All parents should be required to volunteer time to their children's schools.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you ta

Unlike past education, which exclusively concerned educators, current education involves anything or any person responsible for educating children. Naturally, the duty of teaching shifts from sole teachers to various subjects, parents, among these subjects, are of no doubt an indispensable one. Thus, it is both reasonable and necessary to call for a school-family partnership. Active parents engagement with school activities therefore gains unprecedented significance. However, I tend to argue that such an engagement, may include, but in no way equals time engagement, and when this engagement becomes mandatory one, the healthy school-family partnership is jeopardized.

First of all, I applaud that parent take part in school education system can have some positive influences. The parents can understand more about their children in the school. According to some psychological researches, some children may performs very different when they are at home or in school. If parents do not volunteer time to school, they may miss some important points that would result to some psychological problems to their students. Such as the peer relationship conditions, how children regard the praise and punishment from their teachers, these conditions may can not be known at home if the children are reluctant to tell their parent about their daily life and study in school. In addition, by participating in triangular activities involving children, parents and teachers, students can feel the engagement of their parents in their daily study, the teacher and the parents can have another aspect to know about the students, more importantly, the parents can gain a better understanding of the excellent teaching methods teachers use and subsequently utilize these methods when teaching their children at home. Thus, the sound teaching ways can extend beyond the classroom.

However, parents’ commitment to their children’s education cannot be merely measured or fulfilled by the amount of time they volunteer at their children’s school. Measuring the time of parents spend on their children’s education is not just the time they participate in school with their children but the total time they cost, which both at school and outside the classroom. In addition, education is not only merely means that help children’s homework or participate in school activities with children, but also care the ethical and well-rounded developments of the children. We cannot ignore the effort the parents made when they teach their children at home and they always strive to teach their children by personal example as well as verbal instruction.

Even if we are emphasize the importance role of parents in school activities, it may have detrimental effects when parents’ engagement of their children’s school life becomes mandatory. The parents are independent individuals who have own career and life and then they may cannot attend the school activity at one specific date, thus, the children may get hurt when they regard their parents’ attendance with the love and caring of their parents. In addition, the students may show good behaviors deliberately at that specific day to win the praise of their parents. The teacher, may also mask some negative things of the children when they face the parents. In such case, what the parents see and feel in the school may only the facile side of their children.

In short, I agree that parents should engage with the school life of their children, but the engagement of the parents cannot restrain to the school activities. The parents can make a phone call with teachers occasionally and go to the school to care their children when they are free, more importantly, parents should not ignore the educational role they played in the family education. Therefore, the cooperating relationship between parents and school can keep up.