In order to become well-rounded individuals, all college students should be required to take courses in which they read poetry, novels, mythology, and other types of imaginative literature.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agre

To be a well-rounded individuals, the argument indicated that imaginative literature such as poetry, novels, mythology should be compulsory to each college students. Imaginative literature can give the students free imagination and improve their creative ability, enabling the students liberate/ emancipate the thinking of from stereotype, lay the foundation for a However, is it necessary for every students to learn imaginative literature even they are not interested in it ? Before we conclude the final decision, we need to consider the consequences of this recommendation.

Unlike the scientific courses, such as mathematics, physics and chemistry, which require rigorous observation and scrupulous computation, imaginative literature is famous/renowned for its freedom for different thinking ways and it does not require students to rigidly adhere to one methodology or unique principle, thus, imaginative literature could provocative the creativity of the students. For instance, a physical students can be benefit from the scientific fictions, which imagine the life on other planets based on some basic theories of physics, the students can explore and think critically about some ideas and scenario in the fictions. Combining the freedom of creativity and meticulous academic attitude may bring positive influences to the scientific students and further promote the process of becoming them to be a well-rounded students.

Even if the imagination courses are designed to encourage the students’s creativity and well-rounded development of the students, its positive consequence could be undermined by certain negative circumstances. Some people may argue that reading novels and poetry is thought to offer a temporary respite from the onerous assignments in other courses and the students are relaxed enough to enjoy the beauty of imaginative literature. For example, students’ workload will be increase due to the new compulsory imaginative literature courses, which may require students take an examination or submit an essay to evaluate the understanding of students about this courses, in this case, students may do not have enough energy to study and even hold the repulsive feeling about this courses, therefore, making imaginative literature a mandatory courses may diminish the enthusiasm of the students and further lead low creativity in this courses. In addition, the mandatory literature courses require more educational resources, the teachers’ workload also may increase if the school do not have sufficient teaching resources, thus, the teaching quality as well as the teachers’ attention to each students can not be guaranteed. In such circumstance, the issue’s recommendation fails to provoke students’ focus on study, which ultimately lies at the root of well-rounded individuals.

While I argue that choosing literature courses may inspire the creativity and imagination of the students, it is still hasty to equates the enrollment of the imaginative literature courses with improved well-rounded developments of students. Usually, the process of becoming a well-rounded person also affected by other factors, such as the independent and critical thinking and self-learning ability, as well as the influence of other liberal courses and various community activities , which make the students to recognize the society and the country where they lived in and then they can become a well-rounded citizen in the country. Besides, we also need to explore the internal interaction between imaginative literature and other disciplines. Though the significant role occupied by imaginative literature and even the methodology importance supplied by the imaginative literature, it is difficult to assure that the methodology can be applied to other subjects. Even if it can be used in other courses, the students may not get fully understanding of the methodology of literature, let alone mastering its application and using it in their major fields.

In short, even though imaginative courses may provoke students’ creativity and imagination, every students should not be required to enroll this course by force, since other factors also contribute to the well-rounded development of an individual and the methodology of the imaginative courses may not be helpful for students to learn other subjects.Thus, it is a better choice to set the imaginative literature courses as a selective course rather than a mandatory one.