In order to become well-rounded individuals, all college students should be required to take courses in which they read poetry, novels, mythology, and other types of imaginative literature.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The statement asserts that every college student should study poetry, mythology, novels. The premises of that assertion is that having outside knowledge is essential to become well rounded individual. However, as per recommendation, i agree that, it is essential for college students to study materials outside of their field, but all college students should do so is too much extreme to comply with.

As, learning is a process, which needs continuous accumulation of knowledge, no one can say that, he has gathered the ultimate knowledge of all field, which is also impossible. To be well rounded individual, obviously it is necessary to gather knowledge form a vast field of sources like poetry, novel, mythology. For example, to be a perfect doctor, one needs knowledge of human physiology as well as psychology. Physiology helps the doctor to identify where and what is disease is, psychology helps to find out the attitude of the patient toward the disease. By having a sound knowledge of the both, a doctor can claim himself to be a well rounded practitioner.

On the contrary, the question is, whether it is necessary for all the individual to be a perfect or well rounded person? It is seriously a mistaken assumption that everyone should know everything. For instance, if everyone tries to gather more or less a certain amount of knowledge on every respect, then they will have some superficial knowledge in different subjects. As a result, there will be no one with any specialized knowledge in any field. So, without through knowledge on any specific side, who will bring that sector to the next level? If all NASA scientist have to learn poetry than they have to compensate in the field of astrophysics or scientific research. So, that is why, there must have provision for students to gain specialized knowledge, whereas, at the same time college should always open their doors for those, who want to learn the world outside of their academic field.

So, to conclude, it is essential to study novel, literature to be a perfect individual but should not be compulsory for every student so that one who want to gain specialized knowledge, can give more time on that field.