The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of video rental stores.

“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The statement from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of video rental store, attempts to bridge a positive correlation between the increase of profit and decrease in operating costs by early closing of the stores and eliminating the old movies. That conclusion is based on the premises that, the store in downtown Martson significantly decreased its operating expenses by those measures. But on deeper analysis, it is evident that, certain important questions are unanswered, and some vague assumptions render the whole statement a pointless one.

One such flaw is that, the owner claims that the downtown Martson store significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing the sore 3 hours earlier and eliminating all movies released more than five years ago, but he avoided the main fact that the chain is focusing on, increasing profit, and there is no information regarding profit increase by taking those measures. So, how those measures are impacting profit should be specified and the author can strengthen his claim by providing more information regarding that issue.

Another lacuna in the argument is that, as the chain is focusing on reversing the decline in profit in recent years, the owner should have provided more information regarding the recent trend of their sell and the reason why they were facing that type of decline in their profit. It is not practical to assume that, reducing the store expenses and eliminating old movies will bring them profit as there may be some other critical situations, for example, the people where they are operating mostly visit the store for movies after evening, completing their office job and other tasks. So, if they are thinking of closing their stores earlier without taking the real concern, that would eventually make the situation more worse. So, the author of the argument should provide the reason behind that decline and investigate the actual condition and do some survey to find out the real reason behind that decreasing profit.

So, to conclude, the argument lacks information and seems to provide inchoate assumptions. The solution provided by the owner lacks supporting evidence and that is why he should provide more concrete evidence and market research report, more logical information to make his argument more cogent.