All parents should be required to volunteer time to their children's schools.

Essay topics

I believe that parents should spend some time to help their children in their school work whenever parents have free time. However, the policy that all parents must volunteer their time in their children’s schools seems flawed because some parents may not have that much amount of time every day that they can help their children in school work. It is also possible that parents may be lacking knowledge of particular subject hence they cannot help their children in their homework problems.

Firstly, the profession of parents is such that they are totally absorbed in their job. Say for example if children’s mother and father are both doctors then they cannot help them with their studies everyday. In such cases one cannot force parents to leave their job to help their children’s schools.

I believe that it is teacher's duty to guide students with their studies such a way that the students are his/her children. The teacher is expert in the subjects in which students have query. So, only teacher's can best be able to help them with their homework. For example a student has doubt in math then the math teacher is the best person to help the child instead of his parents. The parents may not be good at math or the are not connected with school syllabus hence they cannot solve math related problems of their child.

However, it is parent’s duty to spend sufficient amount of time in their children's education. They must attend parent's meeting at school as in the meeting they come to know about their children’s progress and weakness. The teacher will suggest specific guideline to parents so that their children’s performance can be improved.

In a nutshell, the policy that all parents must spend time in their children's education should not be made mandatory. However, parents should spend sufficient amount of time to check their children's progress and guide them morally to improve their performance.