All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with these statements and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statements might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Blood is thicker than water, they say. In other words, familial relations trump all others, when it comes to choosing sides. Thus, an organisation or a company, which is a one big family, needs to give considerately more importance to what their "own" have to say, instead of outsiders.

The issue here, that companies look towards external consultants and agencies to improve their operations, instead of devoting more time to redress the issues facing its own employees, is ubiquitous in this era. If one may be bold enough, one can say that the authorities of most of the organisations feel that "their own employees are mostly querrulous" and thus they need to look elsewhere for "ompartial" suggestions.

In their defence, this may be true to an extent. Several studies have betrayed that majority of the employees are not happy with their workplaces. Some are not happy with their emoluments and perks, while others are not happy with their boss or team and still others feel the working conditions such as in and out time or break needed to be more flexible, to name a few. In this context, if a company asks its own employees about suggestions for improving their efficiency, it may get a biased response, where employees demand all facilities for their personal gains, and little for the overall productivity of the company.

In this context, a distant perspective may bring in an unbiased view, for the benefit of the company. It is said that if one stands to close to a mountain, it looks huge, unmountable and unassailable. However, the farther you keep moving, the smaller it gets, and from thousands of miles away, or from the sky, it just looks like another speck on this earth. Thus, consultants who are not directly concerned with the company, may give some unbiased suggestions for smoothening the operations of a company.

However, this is not always true. The consulting firm is an outsider, and is definitely not aware of the intricacies of the company. One may argue, that they dig into the background, but how deep they dig and how germane it is to the overall requirements, is questionable. What one is saying here is that since they do not know the local conditions and problems and employees may not be willing to open up completely to them, by making suggestion which do not take these things into consideration, they may do more harm than help.

It is the employees of a company who ar the nuts and bolts of its functioning and thus know it best. They are better suited to provide the best feedback, if sought honestly and perhaps anonymously (for those who fear their jobs). Several studies have shown that companies where employees' job satisfaction is higher, is more productive when compared to those where it isn't. If the employees are content, they are bound to give back in the most efficient manner. If their issues are mitigated, their efficiency will automatically enhance, and for listening to their problems, no company requires third-party consultants. After all, the company hired employees for the worth it saw in them.

Thus in conclusion, one may say that before looking out, a company needs to look inside to address its issues. Encourage honest feedback, with a word that criticism will not be taken otherwise, and organisations will not have the need to look beyond their own. This will not just save their time and resources, but also make their employees feel that they are valued.