Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument presented here advocates for doing away with student evaluation of professors, which, as per the claim, is costing the jobs of students of the Omega University. However, a number of unwarranted assumptions made by author dilute the persuasiveness of the argument.

In order to evaluate the strengths and weakness of the claim, let us first take a look at the assumptions being made by the author.

First and foremost, a clear assumption being made by the author here is that students are receiving inflated marks over the last 15 years, ever since the process of student evaluation of professors was commenced. However, this may be based on a completely fallacious notion. It could be that the teachers, due to the evaluation process, improved their methods of teaching, perhaps presented concepts in a simplified manners and handed out regular assignment, and as such, the improved grades are a result of better teaching and learning process. If this is the case, the marks are not inflated, but a result of better understanding of concepts by the students. In fact, doing away with it may prove detrimental, if it makes the faculty lax towards their responsibilities. A study can be conducted among the students, to confirm or deny this view, and will be the best evidence to evaluate this argument.

Secondly, it may be possible that the students are so focussed on their studies, marks and grades, that they may not have any extracurricular skill, as desired by most companies today. If this is the case, the university should work on launching some co-curricular activities for the students to make them better suited for possible vacanies. The university can also take a look at the students of Alpha University, who got hired by potential employers, and analyse how they differed from their own students.

Additionally, the potential employers, can be requested to conduct their own examinations, if they believe that the marks of students are inflated by the university. However, this assumption too has nowhere been substantiated. It may very well be possible that the potential employers feel that students of Omega University are either too intelligent for them, or perhaps are so studious that they do not know ways of the professional world, and hence may not be able to perform well with them. Alternately, students of Alpha University may be displaying the skills that perfectly match with their requirements. If this is the case, then the evaluation process of teachers has nothing to do with low campus placement rate of the varsity. In order to get a clarity over the matter, a team of faculty and adiministrative staff could meet some potential employers and ask about the reasons that were holding them back from hiring their graduates. These responses should be taken into account while formulating a plan of action to enhance the hiring rates of graduate students of Omega University.

Another assumption that has not been quantified by the author here is that how successful have Alpha University students been in getting jobs, when compared to students of Omega University. It may be possible that only a handful of extra got hired, due to requirements in a particular company. For instance, if a pharmaceutical company is looking for biomedical graduates, and Alpha University has them in abundance, they have hired a bulk from there, whereas if Omega University does not offer this particular displine at the varsity, it is but natural that its students were not hired. On the other hand, it may also be possible that the overall job scenario may be bleak, and very few companies came looking for new employees. The companies who usually hired from Omega were not taking any new recruits for some time, while the same may not be the case for Alpha students.

Thus, in conclusion, without carefully analysing the underlying causes of reduced hiring of graduates, it is not right to conclude that doing away with students evaluation of teaching effectiveness of professors is likely to improve the placement scenario of Omega University.