Argument topic:

The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of a super screen movie production company:

"According to a recent report from our marketing department during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies than in any year and yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about Super Screen produced movies actually increased during the past year. clearly the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers and the problem lies not with the quality of all the movies but with the Public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. It should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based is reasonable. be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The adverstising director of Super Screen Movie Production Company believes that an increase in the advertising budget to reach the public will up the number of people watching their movies and in turn improve the revenue of the company.

However, this assumption seems to be fallacious and is not without its shortcomings.

The first and foremost question that arises in our minds is why fewer people have attended Super Screen-prodcued movies in the given year. Is it specific to the movies produced by the company or movies in general?

The advent of online entertainment platforms such as Netflix and Amazon Prime, may have reduced the footfall at the theatre as people may no longer be interested in attending movie premieres at the cinema-hall, because it would premiere on an online platform shortly after its release.

Again, a pandemic such as the Coronavirus-disease 2019, led to the closure of theatres for several months, and may have contributed to the dip in revenue. Alternately, an increase in the cost of tickets at the cinema halls, may have deterred the audience from visiting as often as they earlier did, due to budget constraints.

The advertising director refers to positive movie reviews to claim that the quality of the movie produced by the production house is good. This is a flawed reasoning because more often that one would like to believe, the taste of reviewers and critics are very different from that of the audiences. May be the reviewers liked the movie for its depth or layered approach, which the general public was not able to understand.

In contrast, it could be that the reviewers were writing biased reviews for personal benefit, in which case, the correct question to be asked will be what can be done to improve the quality of the movies made by the production house? Another pertinent question in this regard will be - what type of movies are the audience willing to watch? This can be found out by analysing the sort of movies are becoming hits or blockbusters during the times. Whether comedy movies are entertaining the public or romantic ones are engaging them or is it horror that people are being attracted to.

It could also be that the Super Screen company has made changes in the types of movies its produced, the techniques of movie production or maybe gave chance to newcomers instead of established actors - and as a result may not have been able to pull the usual crowd to the screens.

The theory that increasing the advertising budget will attract more people to movies, may or may not be true. It is not necessary that everyone who views the advertisements watches the movie. Afterall, we watch so many advertisement throughout the day on multiple platforms, but do we buy all the products? No.

Also, if the reason for lack of audiences is not that shortage of information about the movie, but personal, financial or other reasons, advertising is unlikely to increase business. The purpose of advertising to the inform, persuade and remind the people, but when they are already informed and intransigent, no amount of advertisements will be able to do the job for them.

Instead, a holistic approach to check the causes that have resulted in the reduced viewership needs to be undertaken by the company, and commensurate changes should be made to increase their overall revenue.