The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry and other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing your position, address most compelling reasons or examples that can challenge your position.

Greek philosopher Aristotle famously said that man is a social animal and cannot live alone. In that context, cooperation, not competition becomes basic, when it comes to preparing young people for any role within a society.

The term leader is usually associated with the word "team", and thus a leader becomes one who takes everyone together rather than having everyone to follow. In fact, there can be no leader without a team - we may call them followers, supporters or simply co-workers.

Philosophers have time and again suggested that leaders promote the interest of others before self, and if this quality is to be inculcated in the next generation leaders, it needs to start at the elementary level.

In today's world, where the need to compete with one another - be it in education, employment, sports or any other field - has become fundamental to our lives, where everyone is a part of a rat race, one is not afraid of trampling over another to achieve success. However, the problem in a rat race is that even if you win, you still remain a rat.

While one may achieve success in a competition and reach the top, one will remain alone at the top, and as is basic to human nature that craves acceptance, approval and companionship, success may not necessarily lead to satisfaction.

In contrast, a sense of cooperation instills among individuals the quality of being happy even in the achievement of others. This does not mean that one is not ambitious enough for oneself, it only means that one is not ready to walkover another to succeed in life.

Some time ago, a video of a track race for differently-able kids went viral on social media across the globe. In the video, it was shown how one child fell soon after the race commenced and his so-called competitors, all of them stopped, picked up the fallen child, held hands together and walked towards victory. They all crossed the finish line together, much to the applause of the audience.

This video had a simple message - even though the kids were not "normal" in the usual sense, they stuck together and achieved victory. Not a single child was left behind.

This cooperative feeling needs to be instilled among us from an early age. At schools or in playgrounds, piano classes or pools, or even at home with siblings, children need to be encouraged to help one another, and the best way is to do this is to lead by example. Children observe and imitate adults and if they see an unselfish, helpful gesture, they will learn the same.

A leader does not run the government alone, neither is an industry solely managed by its director or chief executive officer. It is a team effort, and one who knows only competition, will find it hard to work with others. A true leader is one, who ensures that there is no vacuum when one leader steps down and every team member develops leadership qualities within his or her own rights.