"In any enterprise, the process of making or doing something is ultimately more important than the final product."

Write the extent to which you agree of disagree with the statement, citing relevant examples.

We have often heard of the motivational quotation - It is the journey that matters more than the destination. The statement here means somewhat the same - where the author believes that in any enterprise, the process of making or doing something is ultimately more important than the final product.

However, the statement may not be universally true and one would like to consider the following evidences to bolster an alternate point of view that ultimately it is the final product that is of prime importance in any enterprise.

To illustrate this point, let us consider an example from the entertainment industry. When a movie is released, the audience are least bothered about the process that went into producing the film. The cast and crew may have put in their sweat and blood behind it, but if the final product is not appealing to the public, the movie tanks at the box-office, resulting in huge losses for its producers. As per the above statement, had the process been more important, people would have been sympathetic to the cause and recognised the efforts of the filmmakers, and instead of being a hit or a flop, every movie would have been a blockbuster. However, that has so far not been the case worldwide.

Furthermore, let us consider a different industry - a manufacturing unit where four-wheelers are produced. From designing the intricate structure of a vehicle to procuring desired raw materials, producing a prototype and finally launching it in the market, a lot of effort goes behind the scenes. The intentions are always great - to produce the best stuff that would sweep a customer off their feet. However, if the final product is not good, perhaps it is prone to skidding when driven over 60 miles per hour or the engine heats up within a couple of hours of operation, it will find very few buyers and will ultimately cost a bomb to the makers. Here, one must remember that the basic motive of an enterprise is profit, which the product fails to provide.

Even if we consider non profitable initiative, the same logic holds true. For instance, a voluntary organisation, working for eradication of illiteracy in India will be judged not on the process of its functioning, but on how many people were actually made literate or educated by them. Similarly, if we consider the Graduate Record Examination (GRE), a student who even after putting in hundreds of hours of study does not score as per his or her requirement, the examiners will not consider his or her effort. What they see is the product of the process of his study, and if the product or the answers are incorrect, he or she will get evaluated accordingly. In contrast, another student may have put in only a few hours of study, but if he or she manages to mark all answers correctly, he or she will obtain maximum marks.

Now here, in defence of the above statement, one may argue that process does matter because there can be no product without the process. Without hard work and diligent studying, most students will fail an examination, or without the process of proper scripting, acting, direction and technological support, a good movie is unlikely to be produced. Yes, it is true, but only to some extent, and nowhere does the process trump the product, as made lucid by the above examples.

Thus, in conclusion, it seems that the statement claiming that the process of making or doing something is ultimately more important than the final product is only to mollify losers, when they fail to achieve the desired result. In reality, the final product is the one that is known to people, and is appreciated, as evidenced in the aforementioned paragraphs.