Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

We have all heard of the saying, "Try, try, try, until you succeed." In this context, one cannot but disagree with the claim that educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed. If anything, educational institutions should encourage students in exploring all avenues in order to discover for themselves, the fields in which they can excel at.

First and foremost, it is not the responsibility of an educational institution to persuade or dissuade a student. Indian philosopher Mahatma Gandhi said, education is bringing out the best in an individual - body, mind and spirit - and the purpose of educational institutions, thus, is to help in the overall development of a student. To bolster this view, let us see the example of Thomas Alva Edison, a noted scientist and innovator. A very popular anecdote from his childhood goes something like this - once his schoolteacher wrote a note to Edison's mother saying her son was stupid and should not be sent to school as he could not cope with regular lessons. Edison's mother told him that the teacher said he was too intelligent to remain at school and thereafter taught him, herself. Later, Edison became one of the biggest innovators in history. Clearly, the educational institution here took it upon themselves to dissuade Edison from pursuing the usual school subjects as they found him to be too dull, but we see how miguided their assumptions turned out be, as Edison seems to have become the most popular one from his class.

Furthermore, let us see what are the parameters on which any educational institution judges a student's ability to succeed in a field. Most of the times, it is only on the basis marks in some regular examinations. However, this is not the true indication of a person's abilities. It may be that one student could not perform well in some tests due to illness or other problems, but has an otherwise good understanding of the subject. In such a case, it is not only wrong but unjust to dissuade him or her to pursue a particular discipline of study. Marks can never be an indicator of a person's success.

Additionally, without exploring multiple fields of study, how is a student supposed to know their ploclivity towards one? One can say here, that educational institutions, contrary to this claim, should help students in discovering their fields of excellence by providing appertunant support in covering subjects in which a student is relatively "weak."

In a related example, a number of parents force the choice of profession on their children, without consulting them or considering their abilities. They believe that since engineering or medical field is lucrative in terms of compensation, their children must pursue it. However, many a times this proves fatal for the children, who were more inclined towards arts. Similarly, if an educational institution tries to dissuade them from pursuing some subject, they may be doing the exact same thing the parents do, when they force a choice on their wards. As human beings, all of us are differemt. We are not perfect. We are prone to making errors, but that does not mean that someone makes a decision for us. We are entitled to our set of trials and errors, and it is these experiences, that ultimately contribute towards the formation of our personality.

Thus, in conclusion, we can in general say that educational institutions only need to provide guidance to its students. It is not their responsibility to decide which fields of study, a student may or may not excel at, and dissuade them from pursuing the former. Every individual is different, and is entitled to making this decision for himself or helself.