People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

When Howard Gardener proposed the theory of multiple intelligence, it became evident that emotional quotient was equally, if not more, important than intelligence quotient.

Citing this to bolster my stand, I would like to disagree with the statement that people who made decision based on emotions, and justify those decisions with logic afterwards, are poor decision makers.

To illustrate this point, let us consider an example from the life of Nobel Laureate and Saint, Mother Teresa of Kolkata. Mother Teresa was a part of a congregation in India that worked for the uplift of destitutes in slum areas. However, their "help" to such people was in limited capacity whereas Mother Teresa wanted to do more, especially for leprosy patients. Had Mother Teresa not heard the call of her emotions and took the decision to start a different organisation, Missionaries of Charity and its good works would be a distant dream even today. Her emotions overwhelmed her logical thinking that she should not stray away from her convent, which was initially opposed to her decision.

Furthermore, advocating for this viewpoint, one would like to state that people are human beings and not robots. Human have emotions, and it is but natural that emotions will be a part of the decisions we make. After all, we are a product of the decisions we make and we need to live with its consequences. In such a situation, one is better off in making decisions based on one's personal choices, likes and dislikes, rather than a logic one does not agree to. In support of this point, a pertinent example is that of marriages in India. In the country, there is still a concept of "arranged marriage" where parents choose the partners of their children, based on some logical factors like age, social and educational class and income etc. However, this is one aspect of life where emotion trumps all logic, and one is likely to be happy with a partner chosen with love rather than logic.

Today, when the world is getting increasingly competitive, it has become of prime importance that we let our emotions take control of us in all important aspects of our lives. Otherwise how will we differentiate between ourselves and robots? Even if we consider professional decisions, if we read the biographies of successful businessmen, we will know that a number of decisions that brought them where they are, came from the heart and not the head. For instance, who can say that Steve Jobs' decision to drop out from college and start Apple was wrong, even though all logic suggests that one should finish a degree and definitely not drop out midway. The world is aplenty with such sucess stories.

In defence of this statement, granted that there are times when logic has to be employed while making decisions. It is said that they head knows what is better for us than our hearts. However, it is our hearts and all that comes with it, that distinguishes us from others.

In conclusion, one would like to reiterate the viewpoint, that emotions are not a hindrance in decision making and neither is an emotional thinker a poor decision maker. So long as the decision is a right one for us, and we are ready to live with the consequences, it is our decision, and we have every right to select how emotional we want to be about it.