Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However, since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations, we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the argument presented here, the author dismisses vaccination of human being against cow flu as non-permissible, because there is a "small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations."

This is a matter pertaining to life and death and needs to be evaluated very seriously, based on specific scientific evidences, before taking the final call in the matter.

The first and foremost requirement one would say, are the definitions or rather quantification of the terms "many", "routinely" and "small", in order to come to any conclusion.

Let us consider each term one by one. When we talk of "many lives being saved", how many are we exactly talking of. For this, we need to know - who are the people affected by cow flu, how many people does it affect, how many lives does cow flu usually claim, and of these, how many will be saved, if they receive this vaccine. A quantification of these numbers is likely to give a much better perspective for further decision on this matter. Such information may be available from local hospitals or health bodies, and can be studied by experts to look for patterns.

Again, if people need the vaccine "routinely", how often or far apart do they require it? Is it an overdose that is making it fatal? In the same vein, one may also ask, if one single dose of the vaccine is as harmful as continued dose? Thus, if there is a chance, that a single dose may prevent this disease while also being non-fatal to human beings, we may be looking at a perfectly viable solution here. This needs to be determined by expert doctors based on the available data and their experience with such patients.

Furthermore, the "small possibility of death" too needs more explanation. How small is it exactly? A related aspect that also needs to be looked into is that the people who died, did they have any underlying medical conditions that was aggravated due to the vaccine, resulting in their death? If this be the case, people with these common conditions could be excluded and the rest could be adminisered the vaccine without the feat of the inoculation being fatal to them. A very pertinent example is that of the Coronavirus pandemic, which affects people with other conditions more, compared to the young, healthy ones. But, to reach to such conclusion, a very detailed study of the cow fly cases - symptoms and deaths etc. will need to be done, to find out the information desired.

Moreover, apart from the precautionary and preventive measures of the disease, one may also look into the treatment aspect of it. Is this vaccine the only way to save people from cow flu? If the vaccine is the only way to save people, then not administering it "because of a small possibility" that a person may die, may cause more deaths in any case - as they would die from cow flu. In contrast, if that is not the case, then definitely, instead of putting people's lives at risk, other options should be employed, while scientists and experts try to come up with inoculations without the present side-effects. However, if say, it is the "only cost-effective method" to save people from cow-flu at a large scale, it may be prudent to look into the finer details of the treatment.

Thus, in conclusion, one may say that outright rejection of the cow flu vaccine is not sensible, based on the given information. Several more evidences are required for a deeper study, before any conclusion can be arrived at.