The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine:

“Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Artificaial Intelligence (AI) has made significant progress over the last few decades, so much so as to replacing human resources at certain places.

This particular letter to the editor of a national aetonautics magazine raises a similar argument. The writer believes that unmanned space flights should receive more resources and attention, compared to manned missions that are "costly and dangerous".

The basic assumption that the writer makes here is that unmanned missions are more cost-effective than manned missions. In fact, the entire argument primarily depends on this main assumption. However, a little more perspective is required here to find out exactly how cheap is an unmanned mission to a manned one? Was a one-time (or few times) affair? What sort of technology was used in those missions and do these technology cost the same now or has the cost increased? If the prices are up, unmanned missions may no longer be as cheap as the times, which the author has chosen as his reference points. Do we need new technologies that are dearer than earlier?

Alternately, with a number of private players such as Blue Origin and SpaceX entering the space technology arena, the cost of all missions - manned or unmanned, may be down in the coming years - making it a moot point whether the mission is manned or unmanned.

The second assumption that the writer makes is that the data and information gathered during unmanned probes are useful enough, when compared to manned missions. Well it may be true, but it may be false too. While AI is replacing human in many fields, there are some things that require emotional quotient, which is yet to be reflected in AI devices or bots. In future, these unmanned missions may not be able to gather as useful data as astronauts and scientists require, and hence the success of an entire mission will be in jeopardy (because few bucks had to be saved).

The third assumption made by the writer is that manned space missions are risky and dangerous. While this may be true to a great extent, space technology has really advanced leaps and bounds over the last few decades and in future, scientists may be able to considerably reduce the dangers posed to men and women in such missions. Additionally, the curiosity and valour of humans knows no bounds. The kind of data and information that homo spaiens may bring back from the limiless space, may not be possible in unmanned missions.

An unstated assumption made by the writer here is that unmanned mission are not risky or dangerous to living beings. Again, this may be true to some extent, but what happens if a satellite blasts a few seconds after its launch, within the atmosphere of the earth and its debris fall in the neighbourhood of the launch area? In this sense, no mission can be completely risk-free.

Thus, the assumptions by the writer need to be studied in perpective of the above arguments to gain insight into the matter.