For this task, you will write an essay in response to a question that asks you to state, explain, and support your opinion on an issue. Typically, an effective essay will contain a minimum of 300 words. The quality of your writing includes the development of your ideas, the organization of your essay, and the quality and accuracy of the language you use to express your ideas. You have 30 minutes to plan and complete your essay.

Some parents forbid young children from owning smart phones (cell phones with Internet access), while others disagree and believe that they are important tools for keeping in touch. Which point of view do you think is better, and why?

We live in an era of technology and no one is untouched from it. In light of this, I firmly believe that parents should not forbid young children from owning smart phones (cell phones with access to the internet), as it has become a necessity in the present times.

To begin with, technology not just helps in keeping in touch but also aids in learning today. In a number of countries, especially the developed ones, several assignments handed out to children require much more than textbooks, to be completed in a satisfactory manner. This became more evident as the process of online teaching and learning picked up in the times of the Coronavirus-19 pandemic. For instance, in India, with teachers as well as students locked up within homes for months, most of the schools turned to e-learning to keep up with the academic calender. For this, it was necessary for the students, even of primary classes, to access technology. As many parents could not spare a laptop or tab for their kids, the young ones participated in the online classes using smart phones. Thus, phones with internet access became a necessity during these times.

Additionally, a number of children also use smart phones for co-curricular activities. Let us understand this better with the help of a personal example. As a child, I used to learn Hindustani classical music on the Harmonium (keyboard) from a teacher who visited my home every Sunday. The only extra access to the activity that I had were some books and I had to completely rely on my teacher's style of imparting the skill to learn it. However, it was not very conducive for me and even after six years of training, I was not confident about it. Had I had access to the plethora of YouTube videos on Harmonium training (and hacks related to it) at that time, I feel I would have done a much better job as a kid. As such, smart phones can come in really handy for children.

One may argue that access to internet at a tender age may not be appropriate, and it does have some drawback. However, instead of keeping smart phones away from children - something which is nearly impossible in today's times - parents should actively monitor the kind of content that children are accessing on the internet.

To sum up, I will support parents who let their children have smart phones, if they require or desire one, and would suggest them to continually keep a tab on their tech-based activities to keep any untoward developments in check.