The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station. "over the past year our late-night news program has devoted increase time to National new and less time to weather and local news. most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our stations coverage of weather and local news. in addition local business that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. therefore in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising Revenue we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific added evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this memorandum, the business manager of a television station, recommends for restoring the time devoted to weather and local news during the late-night news programme, to attract more local audiences and in turn increased advertisers and revenue.

However, the recommendation in its present form is not without its flaws, and needs more specific evidence - related to viewership and adverstising, among others, to strengthen the argument and consider it viable.

To begin with, the first-piece of evidence required to bolster this recommendation is the answer to the question - why did he local advertisers cancel their contract with the television channel? Perhaps, the rate of advertisement of the television channel has increased and they are no longer able to afford the air-time. Alternately, a rival television channel may be offering them discounts on their advertising, which the local businesses find more lucrative? If the answer to any of these questions is affirmative, then restoring weather and local news in the late-night news programme is unlikely to have any effect on upping the revenue of the channel. Instead, the business manager can conduct a detailed study into the matter - asking the advertisers for the true reasons behind their exit from the channel and accordingly devise some alternate recommendations to bring them back.

Secondly, the business manager mentions about viewers' complaints related to coverage of weather and local news by the television channel, but fails to elaborate on this "complaint". Have the viewers specifically complained about the "lack" or "reduced" coverage of these news categories in the "late-night news"? Or have they complained about the overall coverage (or the lack of it) of local and weather news by the channel throughout the day? The nature of these complaints are not ellucidated. Perhaps the local people may be interested in getting regular updates on weather throughout the day, instead of just in the late-night news programme? Alternately, they may feel that too much air-time is being devoted to local news, while entertainment or sports news - generally liked by the audiences - is being ignored. If the answer to the above queries is true, then the recommendation of the business manager is significantly weakened, as restoring local and weather news in late-night programme is unlikely to attract more viewers, and thus more advertising revenue. It may be profitable for the channel may conduct a survey among the local viewers to find out what kind of content they would like to see, before taking a call on the matter.

Further, the business manager does not substantiate the term "more viewers" - whether the channel has seen a dip in its viewership or only in its local advertising revenue. It may be possible that the local viewership is intact or has increased, or perhaps the national viewership has increased owing to the increased air-time devotion to national news, and thus the local advertisers have pulled back due to this reasons. It may be prudent for the channel to look at alternatives of local business advertisers, perhaps by offering some attractive promotional options to national advertisers.

Thus, in conclusion, the recommendation as it stands is seriously flawed. Unless a detailed analysis is done into the viewership figures, the content sought by the viewers and the reasons leading to the decrease in the local advertising revenue, the recommendation does not hold much water, as it is, and will not benefit the television channel in improving its advertising revenue.