The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station. "over the past year our late-night news program has devoted increase time to National new and less time to weather and local news. most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our stations coverage of weather and local news. in addition local business that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. therefore in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising Revenue we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific added evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

According to the memorandum, the business manager attributes a dip in late-night news programme viewers, as well as local advertisers, to decreased screen time being given to weather and local news.

While this may be true to some extent, it cannot be the only reasons for decreased revenues, as we will discuss further.

A decrease in number of viewers can be due to a number of factors. Viewers may have started to call it a day earlier than usual, especially if winter is around. If kids at home have their examinations at hand, screen time is usually restricted at homes and as such, people switch off the television earlier than before.

If it is that time of the year when residents go on vacations, decreased viewership may be a result of families not being at home to watch news. Another explanation could be that a new show broadcast around the same time has caught the attention of the viewers and they are not interested in consumption of news. Yet, another explanation may be that viewers are more interested in early morning bulletins rather than late night ones, and thus, the dip in viewership.

Again, the cancellation of local business by advertisers may be because of a multitude of reasons - the primary being their own revenue. To cite an example, during the times of Coronavirus disease, a number of businesses suffered huge losses and one of the fundamental cuts they made in their budgets was advertising. Hence, if the business is not doing well, the advertisers may have cut on the adverts.

In contrast, another situation may have arised where the business is doing so well that they do not need advertising any more. Alternately, the advertisers, feeling that viewers are retiring to bed early, may have channeled their ads to other time slots or media vehicles.

Thus, it cannot be conclusively said that restoring the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level, would help in attracting more viewers and stop any further advertising revenue loss to the television station.