An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Benjamin Franklin once said, a half truth is often a great lie.

In this context, the recommendations presented here seem to be half-baked and a number of questions need to be answered in order to ensure that the recommendation will have its intended effect.

First and foremost, some vague terms need quantification here. The new millet is "high" in Vitamin A. The question arises, how "high"? Does the new millet variety offer adequate amount of Vitamin A, or is the higher amount still not as much desired by the experts? Alternately, is it so high that it may cause adverse effects in its consumers? Also, even if the millet is high on Vitamin A, is the new variant able to transfer the nutrient wholly to its consumers, or only a part of Vitamin A is absorbed by bodies? One can go forward with this recommendation, only if the quantity of Vitamin A is adequate in the new form of millet. Otherwise, there is no point in even considering this variant for promotion by the government.

Additionally, a related question arises is that how much millet do people of Tagus consume? Even though it is mentioned that millet is their staple food, how much of it do they consume on a daily basis and will the new variant of the millet provide them with required Vitamin A, if they continue to consume the same amount in future. If not, again the recommendation will not hold much water.

Also, if the new millet is indeed an answer to the Vitamin A deficiency among the people, a survey should also be conducted asking them if they will be willing to change replace the old variants they use, with the new one. It should not be assumed that the people will take to the new variety easily because everyone has their own tastes and preferences. If the people are not ready to switch, growing new type of millet may only cause financial losses to the farmers.

When talking of farmers, the recommendation mentions that the new variety millet seeds are costlier than usual but that they will be paid subsidies for planting it. One germane question that needs to be answered here is that will the farmers be able to afford planting the seeds even after the subsidy or will it still be too dear for them? If their cost of production goes up, will the people be willing to spare more from their pockets to buy this new millet type. Again, has the international organisation taken local factors into account - whether this new variety of millet will have the required conditions for plantation in Tagus? If the answer to these questions is no, then this particular recommendation is unlikely to have much effect in addressing Vitamin A deficiency, even if the government does everything to promote it.

Moreover, one also needs to ask if this new type is the only millet that has Vitamin A quantity in such high amounts or does any cheaper variety of millet offer similar properties. It would also be pertinent to know what other foods, preferable cheaper, are consumed by the people of Tagus, that may be high in Vitamin A, and perhaps can be suggested for consumption without any added financial burden.

Thus, in conclusion, one can say that these recommendations, even though made in good faith to improve the Vitamin A levels among people of Tagus, are not suggested after a holistic study. A number of questions need to be answered if the recommendations of the study is to prove fruitful.