The following appeared as part of a recommendation from the financial planning office to the administration of Fern Valley University.

"In the past few years, Fern Valley University has suffered from a decline in both enrollments and admissions applications. The reason can be discovered from our students, who most often cite poor teaching and inadequate library resources as their chief sources of dissatisfaction with Fern Valley. Therefore, in order to increase the number of students attending our university, and hence to regain our position as the most prestigious university in the greater Fern Valley metropolitan area, it is necessary to initiate a fund-raising campaign among the alumni that will enable us to expand the range of subjects we teach and to increase the size of our library facilities."

Discuss how well reasoned you find this argument. In your discussion be sure to analyze the line of reasoning and the use of evidence in the argument. For example, you may need to consider what questionable assumptions underlie the thinking and what alternative explanations or counterexamples might weaken the conclusion. You can also discuss what sort of evidence would strengthen or refute the argument, what changes in the argument would make it more logically sound, and what, if anything, would help you better evaluate its conclusion

The financial planning office (FPO) of Fern Valley University has suggested the varsity administration to seek funds from its alumni in order to expand the range of subjects taught at Fern Valley as well as improve the size of its library facilities. It hopes that this will improve admission and enrollment as students cited poor teaching and inadequate library resources as their chief sources of dissatisfaction with Fern Valley. However, the line of reasoning adopted by the FPO is fallacious.

First and foremost, the glaringly obvious fallacy that is conspicuous in this argument is that the FPO wants to increase the number of subjects taught at the university instead of addressing the main concern of the students, that is poor teaching. The students nowhere demand new subjects, instead they want better teaching. In no way can one say that increasing the number of disciplines taught at Fern Valley will improve the teaching standards and attract more students. In fact, this is a concern that needs to be looked into much more deeply. What is it in particular the the students do not like about the teaching at Fern Valley? Do they want more research opportunities, better laboratory facilities, timely lectures, more teaching faculty and the like. A very detailed analysis of these questions may provide with some insightful answers and addressing those concerns is likely to enhance the teaching-learning process of the Fern Valley.

In the same vein, one needs to ask the question, as to how many students actually complained about "poor teaching". If a survey was conducted, was the sample representative of the entire population, or was it just a few querulous students holding a grudge against a professor. If the latter were true, a different detailed survey seeking answers to the above questions may provide some answers.

Again, the initial question is about declining enrollments and admission, and students who are already admitted may not be able to provide germane answers. So, the varsity can approach students, who were offered a position but refused it, to find out more authentic answers for the same. Queries like - were they offered a position at a better varsity and what would have made them stay, can address the main concern of the Fern Valley. It could possibly be that a new college or university has caught the fancy of prospective students, and thus the enrollments have declined. It could also be that students are getting increasing tilted towards online teaching and the overall admission rate across universities have declined. Without answers to these questions, a fund-raising campaign is not likely to change the situation for the university.

So far as the inadequate library facilities are concerned, the suggestion for a fund-raising campaign from the alumni to increase the number of books may be a good one, but more analysis is required, if it is to be addressed appropriately. A detailed inventory of the current books, especially books that are in abundance, is required to analyse what books are lacking. Faculty and students from all disciplines can be asked for their requirements and the shortage can be plugged. This is the age of the digital, and if it is not yet, the university may think of providing digital resources to students by digitising its library.

Thus, in conclusion, one may state that without getting responses for the abovementioned queries, a fund-raising campaign from its alumni is not likely to improve the admission and enrollment rate, and in turn the revenue, of the university.