All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

The topic presented which states All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. I would not completely agree to this statement because there are pros and cons of both the scenarios and it depends from company to company taking many factors into account.

Firstly, the empolyees who are recruited are done so for a specific reason. Such as engineers they are expected to work on the technical side and even though they are experienced they might have alot on their plate to support the company in other ways as well. Secondly, consultancies are experts in devising a plan or a strategy to tackle certain problems which may help you save alot of time or prevent you from taking bad decisions. Apart from that if the company has just started it is best recommended that they seek for expert help on how to progress and work more efficiently. Talking about fresh companies there are sitautions which the company faces where they do not have the infrastructure to support certain projects. Hence they seek help from consultants on which type of employees should be hired and in many cases those consultants provide us with temporary employees termed as externals.

Although, seeking help from consultancies seems really fruitful but there are downsides to them aswell. First of all the main reason companies are stymied to hire consultants is the cost which is associated with them.Hence the companies who do not have such kind of a budget for the project they should listen to the thoughts of the employees which already have experience. Another very crucial reason is the company data confidentiality, involving alot of externals in your project could jeopardize the companies secrets.

In conslusion to sum it all up .If companies have the budget but lack the infrastructure they should seek help from experts consultancies. On the other hand if the company lacks the budget, but has time on their side and can take a few risks can go on trusting thier employees