The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper in Masontown:

“If we want to save money on municipal garbage disposal fees, we need to encourage our residents to recycle more. Late last year, our neighboring town, Hayesworth, passed a law requiring that all households recycle paper and glass, or pay a fine. Since that time, Hayesworth has seen its garbage disposal costs significantly decrease. If we implemented an advertising campaign encouraging our residents to recycle, Masontown would also save money on disposal of its waste.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author argues that if residents of Masontown want to reduce garbage disposal fees they have to start recycling more and to implement an advertising campaign to encourage the residents to recycle more. However, the conclusion seems unconvincing because the are standing on some questionable assumptions.

First of all, the author compares Masontown to Hayesworth where the cost of garbage disposal decreased after there was a fine imposed if all households did not recycle paper and glass. However, there is a problem because the assumes that Masontown will show the same result just by implementing advertising campaign. This is a problem because Hayesworth was able to reduce their disposal fees because there might be a chance that fines were too high and they were forced to recycle and on the other hand in Masontown there is no mention of a fine so the residents of masontown would not be encouraged enough to recycle just by the advertising campaign.

Adding to it, recycling also has a cost involved. Such as throwing recyclable waste in a separate dustbin so that they could be taken to the recycling plant. This would have a considerable amount of cost associated to it because the government will have to provide seperate dustbins throughout the town which would reflect on the taxes paid. Apart from that setting up a recycle plant is a huge investment and involves a high maintainance cost aswell. Although, there might a reduction in the garbage disposal fees but there will be a rise in the cost of recycling fees.

Furthermore, garbage disposal fees which goes to the municipal might be one of the major source of income which the municipal recieves which helps them to maintain the standards of the town to keep it clean and upto the mark for betterment of the residents. If there is a cost reduction in that area then there is a chance that the municipal might not be able provide the services which it already does.

In conclusion, the argument which the author makes completely fails because he makes assumptions which have no evidence to support them. However, had the author provided some evidence to support the assumptions then his argument would have made much more sense.