It is more important to keep your old friends or to make new friends

There are obviously both positive and negative aspects concerning whether keeping old friends is more important than making new friends. If I were to choose, I would prefer making new friends. It is my firm belief that making new friends is really important for a few reasons, which I will discuss in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, I feel that making new friends will help grow your connections. In today's world having connections in the right place is really important. Having good connections will eventually open up new opportunities for you. I have to say this opinion of mine has been influenced by my own personal experience. I remember when I left my native place and go to another city for my undergrad, I met some really interesting people in college. As my college was really renowned all over the country, students came to study in this college from various other states. Now, after graduation I have connections in almost every state in India, and all are placed in top companies. Due to this, I was able to get a refferal for my younger brother in facebook. This is why I feel making new friends is important.

Adding to it, meeting new people and getting to know them will help you understand how different people think, or get to know about their culture. Moreover, get to learn things which you were never introduced to. Drawing from my past experience, once I had a meeting with a Japanese client discussing about the requirements for a product. The meeting eventually did not go well due to some misunderstanding from both ends. However, after consulting with my manager he stated that I was interpreted as rude to the client as I did not greet him by bowing my head. Funny as it seems, to the Japanese this is a very important custom. If had a friend who would have informed me about this beforehand I would have surely benefited. Hence, it is clearly visible why making new friends is important.

To wrap it all up, I feel making new friends is really important because it helps you broaden your reach and as well as get to know more about different cultures and increase your knowledge about different people.