The following appeared in a memo from the Mayor of the city of Hillview:

“In order to alleviate the serious unemployment problem in our town, we should encourage Autotech to build its automobile manufacturing plant in our area. The Hillview landfill, which has been undeveloped for decades, is a perfect site for this plant. The building and staffing of this plant will put to work thousands of Hillview residents left unemployed after Computech computer software programming company abandoned its national facility last year. I am asking the City Council to authorize a large campaign to attract the company and offer significant tax incentives to make our town attractive to this giant of car manufacturing.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation

The author argues that the City Council shoudl authorize a large campaign to attract the company and offer significant tax incentives to make their town attractive to the car manufacturing company because the cuty of Hillview are facing serious unemployment problem. However the conclusion which the author makes stands of some pretty questionable assumptions.

Firstly, the author assumes that the Hillview residents who were left unemployed after Computech abandoned its national facility last year are still unemployed and did not get a job from the past one year. However, this assumptions seems are bit extreme. Employees who worked for the software based company usually would find a job because of the vast requirement of man power in the software industry.Had the author provided more evidence supporting this assumption then his argument would have made more sense.

Furthermore, assuming that automobile manufacturing plant would require employees who were left unemployeed because the unemployed residents worked for a software based company the skill set required for the automobile manufacturing plant is different from the skill set requried for the software industry. Hence, Autotech might not be able to provide jobs to the unemployed residents.

Adding to it, the author assumes that the plant would put thousands of Hillview residents to work.However, in today's technological advanced world car manufacturing plants have robots working for them. The heavy lifting and assembling which need immense precision is done by an automated machine. Hence, requirement of man power would not be as much as the author is expecting.

In conclusion, the argument which the author makes completely fails because they stand on some weak assumptions. However, had the author provided evidence to support those assumptions his arguement would have made much more sense.