All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with these statements and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statements might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

With the advent of time, many new technologies have been invented, there have been many advances which have opened new areas for work and thus creating more jobs. Recently there has been a tremendous growth in the corporate industry with sectors like IT burgeoning due to its extensive need and application. With the increase in number of companies and competition, being efficient is a desideratum for success. A company's performance hugely depends on the strategies it applies, on the operational policies they exercise.

The pros and cons of outsourcing has been a major topic off late. Outsourcing is when a company hires another company to provide a service. Many critics of the outsourcing policy are of the opinion that if companies spend more time heeding to the needs of their own employees and understanding their views, outsourcing would be unnecessary. I do not completely agree with this view because some factors need to be considered before arriving at such a conclusion. Firstly the efficiency that has been mentioned is dependent on a lot of factors. The reason why a company outsources, needs to be understood first.

One of the major reasons for outsourcing is low cost of labor involved. The company would have more expenditure if they were to do the work themselves instead of outsourcing. Thus, it increases operational bandwidth but reduces the profits produced. Another reason for outsourcing is less manpower available. For example - Many companies in the Nordic Region usually outsource and hire external consultants because they do not have the necessary man power available. Thus, outsourcing being the only option available. Delegating work to other companies/consultants free up resources providing an opportunity to focus on new ideas and innovation instead of doing repetitive operational work.

Outsourcing is preferable when a company is relatively new in the market and it does not have the capacity or expertise to be able to perform all tasks on its own, so, hiring expert consultants is the best way to ensure continued smooth operations. That being said, a company should obviously focus on ensuring that they provide their own employees ample platforms to grow. They should listen to the opinions of their employees and encourage such actions. If the company has enough man power and other factors mentioned above then outsourcing can be avoided and they should try to encourage their own employees to step up to taking new responsibilities and increase efficiency.