An ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor’s record of treating similarly afflicted patients. Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat that medical condition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

There have been rapid developments in the field of medical sciences in the past few decades. New vaccines and cures have continuously been developed which proved to be efficacious in eradicating some diseases. For example - Polio has almost been eradicated throughout the world. Along with these developments the success in treating a condition also depends on how skilled the doctor treating the condition is. The expertise and experience of a doctor is a highly valuable skill in today's world. There are many well known surgeons, psychiatrists who have made valuable contributions. The confidence a patient has in the doctor depends, indeed, on the the doctor's past experiences and success record. There have been debates around this topic with some advocating a policy where an ailing patient should have access to his/her doctors record of treating previously afflicted patients. I do not completely agree with this view for several reasons.

Firstly, the historical records of patients and doctor's are confidential records. The doctor's might not be comfortable sharing these records in the first place. Sharing the records of a patient and the doctor also means that we need permission from the patient to do so. Since confidentiality is a major concern the proponents of this policy must take this under consideration. If such a policy were to be implemented it would take a lot of time to go through such legal procedures of securing permissions from respective stakeholders.

Secondly, how well can previous records be studied and extrapolated? A similar medical condition might have different effects on different patients. The symptoms faced and the problems resulting from the conditions might not be ubiquitous. Similarly treating the same medical condition might require different procedures for different patients. A cure that worked for a patient previously might not work for the current patient for a myriad of reasons and vice versa. Although, having records of how well a doctor has treated a condition in the past gives the patient some idea about the process, medical conditions are subjective hence their cure too, is subjective.

There are various conditions for whom cure has not been found yet, hence the success factor for curing these conditions is not accurate. No tried and tested vaccines or treatment procedures are available for some conditions. In this scenario reading a record of doctor who has treated this condition and has failed to cure it, does not accurately determine his competency. The doctor might be skilled but since there is no formal treatment procedure he has to rely on his instincts and experience to treat it, which might not always prove efficacious.

Having access to records would help the patient understand the procedures involved, the cost of treatment and various other factors. They would be more aware of what to expect during treatment and will make them mentally ready for the same. However, it might possibly cause hindrance with patients making constant inquiries in case of a different procedure undertaken by a doctor who has previously used a different treatment procedure. Thus, along with having access to the records the patients should be made aware of the overall medical procedure and need to be informed of all the various factors involved that have been discussed above.