Our current way of life will have negative impact on future generations

The advent of technology has brought a raft of advantages and improvements in the way we live nowadays. Almost everything we do today is affected and dependent on it. It has changed the way we think and the way we spend our free time. There is a different trend in every generation, and we keep upgrading. Something that was out of the box in a generation might be mundane in another. We keep constantly evolving and changing our habits. There have been lot of discussions around whether our current way of life affects future generations, I agree that it does based on several reasons.

To begin with, our youth / children will consciously, or sub consciously imitate what they see happening around them. They will tend to behave like most of their family members or friends. Our current generation is heavily influenced by social media. People spend hours browsing through social media apps and binge-watching TV series. We prefer to stay indoors, connect over video calls, and play indoor games. When the next generation watches us do this, they blend in. Social media was a big change in our generation, it was something that we had not experienced before so it was a huge transformation for us. For the next generation it would not be, they might think that connecting on social media, not meeting personally and just connecting on video calls is the way things happen. They would probably go outside less often, travel less and explore less which precludes them from having different experiences.

A future generation is a direct or indirect derivative of the current generation. Let us take an example of the industrial revolution. The way we work, the way goods are produced today are a derivative of the changes that happened due to the industrial revolution. Our modern life was built upon the very changes brought by the revolution. Similarly, the things we do today, the technology we develop, the trends we follow will in someway or other set the base for the future generations. The waste we produce, the pollution that has been created has affected the environment constantly and negatively. There has been a decline in resources due to exploitation. This will affect the standard and quality of living of the future generations. They would have to live in a more polluted environment with a paucity of resources.

In conclusion, the way we live currently although might seem to be not influential, is in some way or the other continuously affecting and influencing the future generations negatively. What we do today sets a base on which the next generations will develop. We must take care about what we do today and think about how, it holistically affects the human cycle and take measures to combat the negative influences that we might inflict.