The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument states that if the coverage of weather and local news is started again the advertisement revenue that the channel generates will increase again. The argument has several assumptions. It first assumes that the local businesses would start giving advertisement contracts again if they were to resume weather and local news coverage. The argument assumes that there is no other reason why the local businesses would stop the contracts. It might be possible that the companies stopped It because they found better advertisement methods or some other channel that charges less for such advertisements, meaning there might be a variety of reasons for it. The channel must inspect the reasons as to why the contracts are being taken away because if they simply assume that resuming local coverage will get more contracts and if it indeed isn’t a valid assumption they are at risk of not increasing their revenues.

Another assumption is that resuming local and weather coverage would result in an increase in the number of viewers. The argument does state that there have been complaints with respect to the current coverage but what these complaints are is not revealed. So, it is assumed that these complaints are regarding the less time given to local coverage, however, these complaints might be regarding other things like the quality of the news or the accuracy of it. So, the channel must carefully inspect these complaints and find out whether they spring from the reduced coverage problem. If the assumption that the complaints are indeed due to reduced coverage proves to be unwarranted then the channel might not still get the expected increase in viewers.

The memorandum says that the majority of the complaints received were about the local and weather coverage, but it does not enumerate these complaints. It is important to find out what proportion of the viewers have registered these complaints. If only two hundred people out of a million viewers have complaints it is invalid to assume that a major part of the viewer population would have the same problems with respect to the coverage. Without proper knowledge about the number of complaints and the type of complaints, it is simply an assumption that since the complaints are received it must represent what the majority of the viewers think. If the assumption proves to be inconsequential the channel might not see an increase in the number of viewers that it expects.

Thus, the argument makes several assumptions and the results the channels want to achieve that is: increase in the number of viewers, increase in advertisement contracts, etc.

depend largely on them. The channel should evaluate these factors before taking any steps.