Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

A teacher plays an important role in the upbringing of a student by interacting, teaching and guiding them in various phases of life. A students performance highly depends on the teaching abilities of his teacher, how well is the teacher able to impart knowledge. Teaching can sometimes be an arduous process because every student is different and requires different method of teaching. Teachers have to study every student and find a method that is understood by a majority of their class. Their teaching methods and qualities have a direct impact on the academic scores of the students in the tests and exams. There have been propositions to implement a policy where the teachers' salary should be based on their students' academic performance.

I do not agree with this proposed idea for multiple reasons.

The proponents of this policy assert that undertaking it will ensure that teachers will put in more efforts than usual. They will try to learn different methods of teaching which will enhance their abilities. The constant scrutiny will make sure that they keep performing well at all points of time. However, teachers around the schools and colleges might feel demotivated because of this. Their low morale will affect their performance in the classroom and have a negative impact on the students. Such a decision might be an indicator of the school's/college's low confidence in them. The constant scrutiny could be intimidating and could have a sub conscious effect on them. Apart from this, it is important to note that different students find different subjects difficult compared to other subjects. For Example - In Class A has three fourth of the students have a difficulty in subject A, now even if the teacher is doing his/her best, but the students are just not able to do well in this subject means they would score less. In this case judging the subject A teacher's salary based on the scores would be unfair. We cannot develop a ubiquitous system to evaluate marks scored by students of a class because every student is different and will score more or less in different subjects based on his/her ability.

The proponents also claim that teachers will concentrate more on students scoring less thus helping improve their scores. However, scores achieved by a student also depend on another factor - the efforts put in by the student. The teacher does well to make sure he/she covers chapter, brings creativity in the teaching style, uses more real world examples, etc. The student on the other hand does not like this subject, hence does not spend time studying. Consequently, he/she scores poorly in the exam. In this case would it be fair to say that the student did not perform well because the teacher did not do his/her best? Meaning the academic performance depends heavily on the efforts put in by the student too, so if there are two factors affecting the scores of the student wiz teachers ability and efforts by student, then it is not right to judge the teachers salary based on the academic performance. If the salary is based on academic performance, teachers will have a penchant towards just the academic and exam aspect of the subject. They will work towards making sure that the student gets good marks. They might overlook whether the student actually gains something of value from the teaching or not. The goal might change from imparting knowledge to ensuring that they teach students everything that will improve their scores without considering if they actually understand the topic or not.

Thus I believe that deciding the teachers pay based on performance of a student is exams would altogether prove to negative in the long run with teachers getting demotivated and the focus getting shifted from imparting knowledge to making sure that the marks are good. There needs to be an evaluation of all the factors mentions above before arriving at any conclusion and adopting such a policy.