An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

__________

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

There have been growing concerns in Tagus over the deficiency of vitamin A amongst its general populace. Many efforts are being made to find a solution to this problem. The national research team has also teamed up with international development organization to find a solution. Recently, there has been some progress with the international development team claiming to have developed a new breed of millet which has high Vitamin A content. They propose that the government of Tagus should promote growing this millet breed to tackle the Vitamin deficiency problem. However there re certain factors that need consideration before it can be concluded that this indeed would be efficacious.

Firstly, the new breed of millet is high in Vitamin A content, but does this implicitly mean that consuming this new breed of millet will also increase the Vitamin A content in human body? This needs to be examined, although it might be true that the new millet has high Vitamin A, but how much proportion of it would be consumed by the body is important. There needs to be a study on how does the human body react and use the new millet to extract vitamins and other useful substances from it. The recommendation says that giving farmers subsidies would encourage them to buy and plan this new type of millet. There is no information given on how readily available this new seeds are. Since it is mentioned that this new breed has been engineered, it is important to know the amount of these engineered seeds already available and how easy/difficult is it to produce them.

Another assumption that since millet is a staple food people will adopt the new breed without hesitation. The people need to be made aware about why they are being asked to plant this new breed and delineate the benefits of it. Does this new breed of millet contain all necessary nutrients present in the older breeds of millet? It would not be a good result if the new breed gives more Vitamin A but deprives the body of nutrients that were available from the old breed. Another factor that needs consideration is once planted would the new millet crops grow well? Since this is an engineered seed, would it grow the same way in open fields as it does in laboratory conditions. The weather and soil conditions are vital for growth of any plants. Will the climate of Tagus fields be suitable for its growth, is a question that needs consideration.

While it might be true that this new breed of millet indeed contains high Vitamin A, the government of Tagus before promoting it should consider all the questions discussed above. They should have a thorough analysis of these factors and only then arrive at a conclusion. If all these factors fit in, then definitely this new breed of millet does sound promising in solving the Vitamin A deficiency problem of the populace of Tagus.