The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper in Masontown:

“If we want to save money on municipal garbage disposal fees, we need to encourage our residents to recycle more. Late last year, our neighboring town, Hayesworth, passed a law requiring that all households recycle paper and glass, or pay a fine. Since that time, Hayesworth has seen its garbage disposal costs significantly decrease. If we implemented an advertising campaign encouraging our residents to recycle, Masontown would also save money on disposal of its waste.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The letter sent to the editor says that in order to reduce the municipal garbage disposal costs, people should be encouraged to recycle more and more of their garbage. The argument uses the example of Hayestown, a neighboring town which has implemented the recycling methods, that was able to reduce the garbage disposal costs. The argument hence concludes that we should start advertisements that will create awareness and encourage people to start recycling and in turn reduce the municipal garbage disposal costs. There are several assumptions and factors that need to be evaluated before we can arrive at such a conclusion.

Firstly, the argument states that the new law passed in Hayestown which made it mandatory for households to recycle paper and glass, was the only reason that the costs decreased. There might have been other reasons why the costs decreased. The people of Hayestown might have started using more reusable products which in turn reduce the amount of garbage and waste produced. The population of Hayesworth might have been reduced and hence the garbage produced by the populace might have decreased. Thus, there might be several other reasons why the garbage disposal costs might have been reduced for Hayestown.

The decrease in costs is attributed to the garbage produced by the households. There might be industries operational in Masontown who might be generating garbage that is significantly greater than the garbage produced by households. Hayestown might not have such industries. Thus, even if the new recycling laws were implemented for households, it might not help decrease the garbage disposal costs because households produce only a smattering amount of the total garbage produced. The aim of reduced garbage costs might not be achieved in this case. The argument assumes that the advertising will result into people adopting the new recycling methods. The people in Hayestown might be using these methods because there are fines and not because they are motivated to do so. In this case it is important to know whether Masontown will also incorporate fines if citizens don't abide by the recycling law. If fines are the only reason people recycle waste, not having fines in Masontown may not produce the intended recycling of waste.

The argument does not talk about the requirements for the recycling of waste, what tools are required and how will the residents acquire them. The municipality in Hayestown might have provided it's people with tools to recycle garbage, which might have required huge initial investment. It will be important to know if Masontown already has these tools that they can provide to the residents or if they have the initial investment handy to acquire such tools and give it to the people.

In conclusion, the proposition to start advertisements to encourage people to start waste recycling does carry the right intentions to reduce the municipal garbage disposal costs. However, it does not delineate on all the essential factors required to deduce whether or not recycling garbage by households will indeed reduce the costs. The various factors involved need to be evaluated and the assumptions made should be justified for the plan to be a success.