Sports stars and movie stars have an obligation to behave as role models for the young people who look up to them. In return for the millions of dollars that they are paid, we should expect them to fulfill this societal responsibility.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Television and social media have played a vital role in the rising popularity of many new stars. Be it in the field of sports, movies or social media influencers, these stars are closely followed by their fans. The stars give frequent interviews, they constantly upload new stories or posts in which they sometimes discuss about their personal lives or how their journey so far has been. These stars have countless followers on social media platforms and they make sure they continuously engage with them. The stars also feature in advertisements for commercial products, some campaigns, etc, which influence their followers to buy these products or be a part of the campaign. The stars earn a lot of money with these advertisements and campaign promotions.

Along with a lot of good things we also get to hear about controversies. Just as the good news about the celebrities are spread quickly, so are the bad news too. This has an impact on the influence the star has on his/her followers and in turn has some effects on his/her professional life as well. Many teams, movie houses have rescinded their contracts with the players/movie stars after a controversy has been reported. Thus what these stars do and what they represent affects a lot of people and the stars earn a lot of money through it, be it any form of advertising or a campaign. Some people believe that since these stars are paid such huge sums, they must be obliged to act as role models for young people who follow them. I do not completely agree with this view for several reasons.

Firstly, the advertisements these stars do, the sports they play, or the movies they act in is just work for them. We may view them as being something extra-ordinary from the rest of us because they operate on such a huge platform, but for them it might just be normal work. Sometimes the stars participate in campaigns because they really believe in a cause and not because they just want to influence people. They score a century, or they deliver a blockbuster film which maybe viewed from outside as a great achievement, but for them it just might be a mundane task they are supposed to deliver.

These stars might want to keep their professional and personal life separate. They might not want to talk about their journey or why they do what they do. It is completely fine if they do not want to open up or share or influence people. The huge amount of sums we pay them is for the work they do, it does not in anyway put an obligation on them to do what we expect them to do. We need to look at it from a professional point of view and let the star decide whether or not he wants to act as a role model and influence people. We must respect the decision he/she takes.

Thus, while it is true that we pay these stars huge amount of money and they have such wide spread popularity we cannot expect them to act as role models and influence people. This must be a choice that they have and they should have the say about what they want to promote, how they want to influence people.