The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The development of a nation and society as a whole is steered by the action of current generation who act as the driving force. It is the duty of this same generation to make sure that they spend efforts trying to make the new and young generation well equipped to handle their roles in future. This is because the new generation will be the future driving force. They must be provided with the best available education facilities along with receiving societal values. The aim is to make the future or the young generation intellectually, resourcefully and socially progressed than the precedent generations. Thus, the methods and strategies applied to ensure this progression need to be carefully devised for they shape and influence the future developments.

One of the methods of making sure that the youth do their best is by the strategy of competition. This is a method that has been in practise since a long time and it has been quite successful. The psychology of humans makes them perform better when they face competition. A competitor motivates an individual and ensures that he transcends his limitations and gives his best. The individual has a parameter to judge their performance ( compare their performance with that of their competitor ), whereas this is absent if there is no competition. An individual also learns a great deal by observing his/her competitor and the interactions add value to their knowledge. However, this method does have some drawbacks, although it does ensure a parameter to judge performance, the competitive mindset may be detrimental in the long run. An individual with such a mindset will focus only on the competition and fail to learn through the process. The results (winning or losing) matter more to him/her than the actual learning he /she has gained through the exercise. This attitude is particularly harmful when team work is expected, when you are expected not only to do well yourself but also co-ordinate with people and think holistically. A good leader must always look at the bigger picture.

The other method which is not so common but is quite effective and preferable is the method of co-operation. The method states that the youth should be taught leadership not through competition but through co-operation. A leader must be able to work with different kind of people, he must be an effective communicator and should have good people management skills. These are essential skills when it comes to leadership as a leader will always have to work with a team, ensure good progress and development of the team members as well. Teaching co-operation skills will help them to have a better understanding of situation, how to negotiate and how to delegate responsibilites to team members based on their skills. It helps make a better leader by putting them in conditions which they will face in real life when they lead a project.

In conclusion, a leader should have two qualities - he must be a good individual who is best at what he/she does and he must be a good facilitator, a good communicator and have good people management skills. An individual who is excellent at what he does individually might not turn out to be a good leader, thus we must also concentrate on inducing a sense of co-operation in the youth. When these youth grow up and become responsible leaders who will be handling complex tasks that require working not only with their own team but also across teams and platforms this sense of co-operation that we induce in them will definitely help them.