A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Education forms the backbone of a nation, the nations progress and development depends highly upon the literacy rate and skills of it's individuals. Education sector forms a major sector of the national policy with considerable amount of resources and budget allocated to it. Different states within a country adopt different policies and strategies when it comes to forming the cirriculum and overall process of education. Each focusing on different aspects, which depend heavily on the geography of the region and the history too. The cirriculum of every state differs from another based on a lot of regional factors and the skills which the industry in that region needs.

Reecently there has been a proposition stating -we should form a policy that every student in the nation has to study the same cirriculum. This proposition claims that uniformity in the cirriculum will ensure that every student receives equal amount of education and will develop the same skills. This will ensure that we have a common basis to evaluate all individuals once they complete their education and move towards professional life. I do not completely agree with this idea, while it does seem as a good idea initially, to have a common cirriculum for everyone it certainly has some drawbacks.

To exercise same cirriculum we must consider some factors. Firstly, how would you define a cirriculum that makes sure of covering all skills and aspects. It would surely thwart the diversity aspect of education. For example - If all students of a nation have same cirriculum which means all of them have the same skillset and knowledge. The industry today is ever growing with new technologies been developed everyday, will these students having same skills be able to cope up with the change? Would we have enough subjects Having a different set of subjects and studies ensures that each and everyone gets a variety of knowledge and thus skills.

Secondly keeping the curriculum diverse adds a lot of opportunities. In a state which has huge number of IT Companies and jobs, a student in college will have a penchant towards coding and learning computer skills, he might want to pursue a career in IT. In this case having a common cirriculum would prove detrimental because he would not be more interested in learning economics or accounts, but he still has to study it because the cirriculum dictates it. Thus having a common education policy stymies acquiring new skills. A policy which is flexible, can attend to the new needs of the industry and thus have an increase in the human skills and resources.

A major advantage claimed by the proponents of common cirriculum policy is that it will induce convention and set up a seamless process, which can be modelled and replicated efficiently. While it is true that having a common policy would reduce operational complexity of designing the cirriculum because there would be a central policy, different states and colleges need to consider various factors that have been mentioned above. The pros and cons of such policy need to be rigorously evaluated before adopting it.