Some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. Others believe that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented above.

Education has been a pillar of human development both in terms of technologies and society. The new education systems aims at coping with the new advances in the technical and social fields. It plays a great role in shaping opinions and developing thought processes for an individual. It steers the individuals life and thus along with it the nature of the society and nation as a whole, A cardinal aspect of education is teaching. It dictates the effectiveness and efficacy of what it is being taught and how much impact would the teachings or the education have. Just as it plays a role in developing advanced technologies, the methods of teaching play a vital role in creating a moral society. It tries to induce moral values and principles in the students which will help them become better citizens and be a good fit in the society. While the importance of teaching and education in creating a moral society is undebatable, there has been a lot of disagreement over the methods of teaching.

Some people believe that the foundation of education should be built by teaching morality to the students. According to them, teaching morality at the earlier stages will help create awareness amongst the students about values and principles that binds the society. The values would be inculcated seamlessly if they are taught to them from beginning. The thought process and actions of a student who has been taught morality from the beginning will always be in compliance with the values of the society. This tenet stand valid if and only if along with teaching these moral principles we also teach the students about it's application. By being just aware of what morality is does not necessarily mean that the students will abide by it. Thus, the goal of a moral society being built upon the foundation of teaching morality should also enable students to apply these principles. The society we live is changing continuously with antiquated beliefs being obsolete and new practices being introduced. Thus, with the changing society the values and principles of it would also be needed to be modified continuously. A rigid set of values cannot be applicable to a society that is not static. Thus, even if we teach morality the principles might not all be accurately applicable in the long run.

I agree with the other belief is to teach logical reasoning which will help develop a moral society. Logical reasoning involves thinking rationally about a particular idea or a problem, determining the root cause or the conditions that developed it. It will make children think about every action. It will make them question what they are doing, understand why they are doing it. They would judge for themselves what is right or wrong. Instead of giving them a fixed set of solutions we rather teach them the process of identifying problems or analyzing situations and come up with their own solutions. Thus, each individual would be capable of determining what is morally correct or incorrect not based on a set of principles but rather by assessing the situation and choosing what is the best course of behavior or action. The moral principles change with a changing society but logic always persists and can cope up with and be applicable to dynamic conditions.

Thus, both teaching morality and logical reasoning have their own ways of making sure that individuals grow up and help towards developing a moral society. Teaching morality however does have some limitations when compared to teaching logical reasoning. The effectiveness of teaching morality lies in the validity of it's application and it's ability to modify itself, while teaching logic will definitely help individuals think and comply with morality and sometimes amend it according to situations as well.