All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Only when a company is facing a major crisis, it will look for bringing in changes. Bringing in outside consultants is necessary in order to improve efficiency at that.

When companies hire outside consultants, they don't just hire a person who will identify the issue, they also hire someone who can help address that issue. These outside consultants are specialized at their jobs- they are quick to find bottlenecks in the company's processes and also are also trained to find the root cause of the issue which should be addressed to improve productivity. If the company were to only listen to its own employees, then, everyone will have their own share of problems- some of which may be trivial. Even if the complaints were important, the management might not have any idea how to fix it. Let us take an example of a company 'A' which listens to feedback from its employees for improving the company's efficacy. John who is an employee might have a problem with the company's appraisal system since he feels that it is unfair to him and if it were unbiased, he would have got a promotion. If the company's management were to listen to him, there is no clear indication of what the problem is and how to fix it. Also, the management's personal opinion towards John will cloud their judgement and prevent them from looking at his complaint from all angles. This is where consultants come into picture. They will audit the company's policies, see the workplace culture and suggest improvements. These improvements may or may not satisfy everyone, because there is no way, everyone can be placated. But, the changes they will bring in will have unbiased view of the company since they are not personally related to or invested in anyone. For them, their job is to work on improving company's policies irrespective of how it may affect one particular person.

Another very important attribute of outside consultants is that they have wide range of experiences. From their past experience, they will know which technique will work and which change will irk the workers. They have learnt from the mistakes and have been enlightened, so that the next company they work for will not have to encounter the same missteps. If the company were to listen to employee feedback and make changes, there is a good chance that it might do more harm than good. Considering the above example of John- say, if John was among a small subset of employees who feel the need for a new appraisal system, then, if the company changes it to accede to their demands, they risk alienating the majority of other workers. Outside consultants will know which request to ignore and which to work on, thus, preventing a major clash of opinions internally. Apart from experience, they can bring in the industry best practices which are successfully employed outside to this company. The management might not even be aware of such practices, and an outside influence will be very welcome.

Like with any action, there are two sides to anything. The outside consultants need to listen to the employee feedback before embarking on changing the policies. They need to understand the workplace culture that is already in place and start working from there, instead of bringing in an alien culture. If they don't, they risk reducing the productivity and worker satisfaction.