As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Technology has made life simpler for people and has empowered them to tackle real issues instantly.

Advancements in the field of technology is one of the most significant innovations of this century. Technology has allowed modern-day humans to offload unimportant and repetitive tasks to a machine or program. Doing so, computer programs are being used for performing monotonus tasks and parallelly, allows people to focus on more productive and cutting-edge innovations that might help directly in progression of humanity as a whole. For example, let us consider two hypothetical freelance writers- John and Sam. John is from a time when there was no technological support for performing everyday tasks whereas Sam lives in present day. John's majority of the time is spent in spell-checking and physically distributing them to customers rather than writing the book whereas Sam writes his books with ease and uses the lastest spell and grammar-checking tools of the Word-processors to find mistakes and then publishes them to Kindle Store almost instantly, and immediately moves on to work on his next book. We can see from the above examples how much technology has shaped and helped improve our society, but, it is still very much underappreciated.

Another example that can be seen in real life where technology has actually helped humans directly is through traffic management systems installed in most cities of today. These traffic systems can accurately predict traffic in real-time and help commuters to choose the best path based on time and day of travel. But, just because technology is doing this does not mean the ability of humans to think has decreased. Actually, the reality is quite the opposite. Because humans are the ones who actually design and develop these systems, it is humans who do the thinking and foresee all the cases that the system needs to tackle when deployed in real-life. People research and find the best Machine Learning algorithms and design highly esoteric Artifical Intelligence systems to do this. So, saying the ability of humans will reduce is far from truth.

On the contrary, being too reliant on technology has its downsides. For example, people becomes too dependent on machines to do their tasks. For example, instead of going to a grocery store for shopping, they simply order from Amazon. If their internet or mobile phone goes down for even a day, they feel miserable and are unable to do anything by themselves.

Thus, technology has improved the life of humans and has empowered them to solve hard problems which requires more thought rather than doing monotonous work.