Although innovations such as video, computers, and the Internet seem to offer schools improved methods for instructing students, these technologies all too often distract from real learning.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The advent of technology has taken over our world. Computers and smartphones have become household items and most people cannot do without them. Many young people spend a lot of their time using these devices, and some argue that this may distract from real learning. However, I mostly disagree with this argument for two reasons.

Firstly, a lot of schools and colleges use videos and computers to teach. The visual cues provided help students to grasp concepts better than by just reading from books. Aside from that, there is a plethora of information and explanatory videos available on the internet which students can use to revise or to understand concepts that they could not understand in the classroom. For example, studying the motion of an object in 3-dimensional space would be difficult using just a blackboard and books. However, if this motion could be shown to the students on video, they would undoubtedly be able to understand it better. If a student does not understand this concept in a traditional classroom, he or she can watch videos explaining it on the internet, which will facilitate learning. In this way, technology actually reinforces real learning rather than being a hindrance to it.

Students fascinated by technology may also look to make a career out of it. In today's age, the computer industry is booming with multiple tech companies like Google and Facebook providing new inventions every other day. A student exposed to computers since his childhood would learn more about them from an early age and would be better suited for a career in this domain than someone who only starts using computers after his or her schooling. Many of the leaders in the technology industry like Bill Gates, Mark Zuckerburg and Elon Musk had been using computers since a very early age. These people are now eminents in technology and they may not have been, had they not used computers as students.

However, these devices may become distractions for students if not used properly. Social media, video games and other such platforms may distract students from their academics and career if not used in moderation. Youngsters may get addicted to video games, or spend a lot of time on social media, posting pictures and looking at humourous images and videos. Spending too much time on these platforms may be detrimental to their careers because students may ignore their academics and spend all their time on these websites or games.

In conclusion, hindrance of real learning due to technology is a complex issue and has no straight answer. If used correctly, technology is one of the biggest boons of mankind and students will immensely benefit from these innovations and have their learning facilitated.