The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava.

"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The committee makes an argument for reducing the funds given to schools, athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. The committee's conclusion is based on the fact that the birthrate in the city is declining, and that reducing these funds would allow them to allocate more funds for facilities used by adults. However, the argument makes a number of assumptions, which, if proven false, would cause the argument to fall apart.

Firstly, only the birthrate of the previous year is compared to that of five years ago. Perhaps the birthrate last year was unusually low and it has been consistently high in the four years before that. It is also possible that the birthrate five years ago was unusually high. Any of these two years may very well be an outlier. If this is true, the number of students will not decrease and reducing the budget for schools and recreational facilities will not be justified. More data needs to be taken into consideration and compared for the argument to be viable.

Second, it is wrongly assumed that adults do not use athletic playing fields and such recreational facilities. There is potential that a number of athletes live in the city of Calatrava, who frequently use these facilities. It is also quite possible that many of the citizens are very health conscious, and participate in sports to keep fit. In this case, reducing the funding to playing fields would not be a good decision on the committee's part. Some information must be provided on the users of these facilities and whether it actually makes sense to reduce funding to them.

Lastly, nothing has been said about the funds currently budgeted for schools and recreational facilities. Maybe the funds currently given to these facilities is already low, and diverting them to these other facilities may not have a significant effect. In such a case, reducing and diverting these funds just does not make sense because, even if it is justified, it will not make any difference to the facilities these funds are siphoned into. We need to know more about the current budget along with the funds given to schools and recreational facilities.

Therefore, it is clear that the committee's argument is flawed and needs more information to be evaluated. If data could be provided which clarifies the validity of the assumptions mentioned above, the conclusion may be justified. However, without this data, it just does not hold water.