"Although many people think that the luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life are

entirely harmless, they in fact, prevent people from developing into truly strong and

independent individuals."

The issue raises a controversial view of whether or not luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life are preventing from developing into truly strong and independent individuals. Although i agree with the beliefs of the speaker, there are some benefits of luxuries and conviences of contemporary life. Consider the automobile, people are now using it as a luxury rather than necessity. We depend a lot on the automobile which prevents us from becoming a strong and individual person.

First of all, consider the effect of automobile on our independence as individuals. In some respects the automobile serves to enhance our independence. For instance, cars make people isolated from the peopele of public transport. And teenagers discover that owning a car, or even borrowing one on occasion, affords them a needed sense of independence from their paraents.

However, cars have diminished our independence in many respects. Our dependency on car increasing day by day. We are using a car for going a short trips to the corner store or for carting our children to and from school. Moreover, cars now become the symbol of social status to some people. For this types of people willing undermining their financial status for seeing themselves in brand new sedan of this year. In short, people are becoming the salve of the automobile.

In addition, consider the impact of automobiles on our strength as an individuals. It might be possible that having a brand new sedan will increase a person's dignity or social status, but it cannot be proved someone strength. Also, dependency on cars gives less opportunity for physical exercise which can be possible through walking, running.

On the other hand, autombolie can help us by making journey shorter and safer. By this people get more time to spend with their family. Also they can do home-based exercises that make them fit thus increasing individual physical strength. Furthermore, they can spend the extra time for making their own food which makes them more independent.

In sum, the automobile is giving messages that when luxuries become a necessity, the individual strength and independence diminish. Although automobile has made life easier, created a large number of jobs, raised our living standard, we are becoming the slave of the automobile. However, by becoming the slave of automobile we trade of our independence and inner strength.