Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The prompt urges that it is much more important for an effective leader to be respectable in the eyes of his or her peers, rather than having a sound moral judgement. For some obvious reason I would like to be "mostly disagree" with the statement and hereby I am obliged to elaborate certain points in defense of my position.

To begin with - we need to be clear of the fact that, as per the prompt - it is important to earn the respect of one's fellow peers rather than having a moral judgement for being an effective leader. Nowhere in the prompt it is said that - an effective leader has to be revered in the eyes of his or her followers, even if he or she does not have any moral value or critical ability to think. That mean - an effective leader should have both the characteristics - according to the prompt; but the question is which is more important in the perspective of being an effective leader. For this, we have to understand what the foremost quality of a leader is. Simply said, a leader is he who has been elected on behalf of his follower in order to lead them as a group. So it is pretty simple to get that - he has to have a good respectable relationship with his peers as without this he will not be followed. But it is much more important for a leader to have a good understanding of what is wrong and right. A leader is also chosen based on his ability to discern the subtle difference between a morally right and wrong thing. So, the contest between the two given characteristics arises when both of this become a trade-off to avoid.

For instance - the leader of a manufacturing group has been approached by a lucrative offer, helping to him to do some immoral activites which may harm the simple people who are using the products of the group. Suppose, the leader had a meeting with his contemporary employees and majority of them urged him to accept the offer as it will also rise their income at a good scale. Now there can be two scenarios before the leader. That is to say - can easily accept the offer or he can decline it out of his moral principle. First one, to accord the offer with his employees, might actually earn the love or respect of his employees, but it will be an ephimeral one. Whenever the truth will come across the reality, all of the employees as wll as their leader will be obliterated. So, ultimately he will risk his as well his group activities into questions which will ultimately be lampooned by his employees.

On the other - hand, if the leader follows the second path by declining the unethical offer, he may not serve the demand of the contemporary purposes of his employees but he is not risking the position of his as well as his group's into question. The employees will not lament him in the long run as he has done the correct thing. He will behold the trust of the people surrounding him and also of the laymen getting service from their group. Apart from that - it does not need an overhaul to accept it also that - if a leader is of sound moral judgement as well as revered in the eyes of his fellow people; there will be much better upshot for such circumstances.

So, looking at the reasons and reasoning provided above, it is safer to say that - moral judgement of a leader is much more important than being the favourite one to all, to be an effective one, nevertheless, there is no harm in maintaining both of the qualities in a breast of.