In any domain to make significant contributions, one must consider the past achievemnets in that domain.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Any achievement is considered significant when it surpasses the previous one. Like, the new record is set when an old one is beaten. In order to do so, it is important to be aware of previous achievements done in that particular domain. If an athlete does not know the record of 100mts running , he/she will not be able to judge the speed of his/her running in any measure. He/she will not know where his/her performance stands in reality. Asserting further, previous achievements serves as primary goals for the aspiring achievers in the process of setting new records. Therefore, I completely agree with author's claim that, if one want to make significant achievement, one must be aware and study past records set in that particular domain.

In recent world Swimming Championships, a Swimmer set new record by beating up the one set by Michel Phelps. In an interview, he admitted that, while practising, his primary goal was to beat up the record set by Phelps in practise atleast twice. This strongly supports the given statement. Similarly, a local runner ran 100mts in lesser time than Usain Bolt and recorded in Guiness World Book of records. He as well admitted that, he habituated himself in the same manner as Usain Bolt runs. Then he personalised his styles by some improvements which helped him set the new record. This reveals that, it is important to study the manner, style of previous achiever in order to break past achievements.

Everyone idolizes someone and tries to become like his/her idol. An aspiring model may idolize Aishwarya rai, an amateur cyclist looks up to Chris Froome as an ideal, an fledgeling Cricketer worships Sachin tendulkar. So, we all try to become like our ideal, for that, we try to know more and more about our idol in an hope that one day we will become like our idol. Hence one makes the idol's achievement as their objective and one will be called as significant contributor when one crosses that level.

But this is not the case always, there are exceptions. Such as Pioneers like Jamshedji Tata, scientists, Bill gates, actors who achieved sky limits in respective domains by buliding their own path to success. The legendary actor Mr. Amitabh Bachhan, he developed his own style and persona which impressed audience. These pioneers are exception to the the claim made by author. But an amateur who wishes to become successful actor and considers Mr. Bachhan as his role model will study his style, approach and will try to imitate the same. He will be considered significant contributor only when he crosses the standards set by Mr. Bachhan.

Conclusively, even there are some pioneers who makes great exceptions to the claim. Most usually, any significant achievement is highly influenced by previous set limits.