Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Scandals are interesting most usually controversial event which gets people's attention more easily. History dectates that, past scandals have revealed many bitter truths about reality. Like common wealth games 2008 scandal revealed money laundering and corruption in politics.

Most recent scandal is death of Sushant Singh Rajput(SSR), a bollywood actor who committed suicide. This scandal has got very high TRP and wide publicity for over 3 months. The more they went on investigating, more possibilities were suspected. This brought alleged connections of famous ruling politicians, drug racket among famous bollywood celebrities like issues in media focus. Hence, I agree with author claiming that scandals do bring attention to problems in a way that no one will ever could. Moreover, scandals also sheds light on behind the screen bitter truths which public are unaware of.

Recently, Mr. Trump's former secretary have blamed him of corruption and electoral manipulation. This scandal attracted media's attention very easily and trending since a month. This even provoked some vigilantes to dig deeper and some shocking truths came in light. It also provided topic of rebuttal to Trump's rivals as they got valid points to raise questions against him. Hence it is agreed that, scandals are useful to become aware of problems that no one ever could suspect.

But, if you see the other side of the coin, all above examples can also affect society or youth in a way no one ever could thought of. After SSR scandal there was dramatic increase in youth suicide rates. Also, many youngsters inferred that, it is ok if you do drugs as celebrities do why cant we? as they idolizes bollywood famous celebrities.

Scandals of corruption in politics implied that, bribe can make your work done no matter how bad or good your proposal is. Adding to that, many local surveys showed, there was increase in bribe offering from the public itself to get their work done from government officials.

Recent Mr. Trump's allegations showed world that, effective politicians are often corrupt from inside and they dont really care about society's betterment conevrsely, they are more concerned about self image.

Ultimately, I agree scandals are useful to shed light on behind the screen truths which are kept secretive from public. Additionally, it makes rare possibilities conscious . But, wholistically, scandals hampers societal health as well as attitude. Conclusively, scandals bring no good to society as a whole.