In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should be required to step down after five years.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position:

The policy, people in power in the majority of fields are required to step down after five years provides a view that I strongly agree with but the absolute nature in the second half of the statement is something I do not support. although it is true that most people abuse power when given too much control over it one should consider the deeds done by the person over the course of his tenure to further determine if he is capable to serve longer.

As the policy is over a vast area group of individuals implementation of such a policy would require consideration of several persons. considering the position of a ceo of a business who has single handedly managed to bring the business to a multi-billion dollar company in the span of 5 years, it would be highly illogical to ask him to step down immediately after 5 years. The amount of hard work the individual has put in would be definitely visible amongst his colleagues and the general consensus by the company employees would be to have in on-board for the near future. this would definitely help in improving the general state of affairs in the company. though this is an ideal case, such might not happen in real life, it could be possible that the reason for the improvement of the business was due to a different individual who was shining in the limelight. In such a scenario it would be of the employees views that the ceo should move away from his position of power and allow the next person in.Thus even though the policy if implemented would consider the case of people in power being correct individuals, it doesn't account the enormity(of the decision) and complications that would arise as to who should be the next in power.

In the case of education, a rapidly growing field with technological and other advancements very often, it makes sense that there should be quick changes in administrative privileges to better utilise their current knowledge in positions of power. there have been numerous studies to show that the ability of a person to learn declines gradually past their twenties therefore people if chosen suitably during the prime of their times in the educational field might a better individual in their position. though this sounds perfectly fine at first glance this may not be feasible in implementing. it is well known that people gather knowledge over the span of several decades of their lifetime and positions of power though susceptible to misuse requires great strength and experience in all walks of life which can only be acquired over several years of experience. Thus in the education sector implementation of the above said policy might be helpful in keeping up with the pace of the sector, consideration of the position of the institute and how it wishes to be grown should be taken in to account prior to implementation.

I believe that although the policy has good intentions of allowing the correct people to be in power and has taken in to account the typical misuse of power by individuals, further study in each of the specific domains the policy is going to be applied to should be investigated. though the span of 5 years is sufficient time for people to express their views and carry out amazing work, at the end of their tenure a board of people and or a vote of individuals of the organisation would result in a better holistic environment for the organisation