In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In any field of endeavor, such as academic and business field, it is important to learn from past achievements within that field to make a significant contribution.

If someone wants to make a great contribution in any field of endeavor, he or she must lay a solid foundation by learning from the past achievements in that field. For example, in the academic field, Albert Einstein must first study and construe the classical mechanics theories like the laws of motion and the universal gravitation formulated by Sir Isaac Newton before he could develop the theory of relativity because Einstein thought that Newtonian mechanics could not reconcile the laws of classical mechanics with the laws of electromagnetic field. Similarly, in the business field, Bill Gates had learned computer programming for seven years and became an expert in this field before he founded Microsoft. Therefore, learning from past achievements could be a prerequisite for people to make great contributions in any field of endeavor.

However, learning from the past achievements does not equally mean being strongly influenced by past achievements. For instance, when all the computers in the world had only keyboards for users to type the commands and interact with the operating system, Apple introduced the Macintosh computer equipped not only with a keyboard but also with a mouse and it had a revolutionary graphical user interface. Therefore, people could simply use the mouse to click the icons on the computer screen instead of remembering the tedious programming language, which makes the Macintosh easier to use than any other computer worldwide. If Apple had been strongly influenced by past achievements in the computer industry and had followed the stereotyped standard established by its predecessors, it might have not been able to produce the Macintosh and revolutionize the entire computer industry. Hence, it is important that when learning from the past achievements, one should try to avoid the stereotyped mindset and not let the past achievements constrain his creativity and inspiration. The ability of keeping an open mind and thinking out of the box also plays an important role in the progress of making great achievements in any field of endeavor.

To sum up, learning from past achievements could be a prerequisite for one to make great contributions in any field of endeavor. However, when learning from the past achievements, one should try to avoid the stereotyped mindset and not let the past achievements constrain his creativity and inspiration. The ability of keeping an open mind and thinking out of the box also plays an important role in the progress of making great achievements in any field of endeavor.