Claim While boredom is often expressed with a sense of self satisfaction it should really be a source of embarrassment Reason Boredom arises from a lack of imagination and self motivation

This topic raises the contentious issue that boredom arises from a lack of imagination and self-motivation. Also, the opening statement claims that though boredom is often expressed with a sense of self-satisfaction, it should really be a source of embarrassment. Indisputably, there are phases in an individual's life where a lack of imagination and self-motivation to find the next big thing of their growth trajectory creeps in. Perhaps one of the reasons for this complacency is a feeling developed due to the abundance of advancements in technology with multiple products available for each service unlike the past. In short such level of convenience inhibits many individuals to try something new and leave it to the rest of the world to solve.

Products like Whats-app for instant communication, E-commerce platforms like Amazon.com for online shopping and none other than Google for discovery of the most unthinkable at the click of a button. Nevertheless, every individual should strive to improve and excel, and make life meaningful with whatever the resources available besides being apathetic to the embarrassment which author thinks by and large for being bored. Thus, I generally disagree with the opinion that boredom is a source of embarrassment and would argue that it arises from a lack of imagination and self-motivation.

Firstly, boredom arises in an individual largely when a task is done with a sense of lack of purpose over a prolonged duration mostly. Imagination takes back seat when one turns apathetic to the role they are playing. I would like to point that not all people are self-motivated till the time they find a meaning in the job they have to accomplish. It is human nature that one wants to succeed and get approbation for the same. For example - a batsman might feel bored due to a change in its batting order, he/she may be performing outstandingly at one position but the change in position may result in an ephemeral boredom. The player can still definitely imagine for his contribution at that position and feel motivated despite the transition from the coveted position.

Secondly, an individual might feel self-satisfied at some age and be bored due to a lack of social circle as well. For example - a retired officer may feel self-satisfied for his decades long service, must have displayed all sorts of imagination and motivation at work but no more feels the need to do it. It is no way that he should feel embarrassed and his boredom is quiet justified due to a lack of social circle which perhaps might exist for other reasons. People often feel better alone till the time they find congenital peers with whom they can be candid and do away with their monotony in their style or preference. Hence, these evidences demonstrate that lack of imagination and self-motivation can still co-exist without boredom.

Today's competitive world seems to be heading in a direction where the survival of the fittest looks apt. Admittedly,a constant innovation, unparalleled motivation and the courage to dare the unthinkable is required to sustain and grow at-least in a few trades. For example - It is inevitable for a creative director of an advertising company to stay abreast in all these arenas. Their is no room for boredom, amidst the jungle of creative thinking, as one learns and unlearns at an unprecedented pace. However, the above argument does not constitute a sufficient claim that dearth in imagination and self-motivation begets boredom. Right to live is a fundamental right of each human and one shouldn't feel embarrassed for his/her choices that suits his/her desired needs. Both a teacher and a scientist find their ways of imagination in their respective professions and stay motivated. There are phases where they revitalize themselves by taking breaks and bring forth new ideas.

To conclude, although the world will embrace success marked by constant momentum of innovations and an unending expectations of a hyper-competitive race. To some, expression of boredom as a self-satisfaction might appear a source of embarrassment but that does not hold true in all cases. There is a diminishing marginal utility for each activity as per economics which leads to phase of a lack of imagination and self-motivation for every individual. I disagree partially basis these evidences shared that lack of imagination and motivation account for boredom. There is an opportunity cost of being motivated and full of imaginative ideas every-time which not all are ready to pay and they better feel content to live with their peace.