In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The given issue concerns quite complicated matter - is it possible to make significant contribution without being influenced by past achievements of that field? Certainly, there is no way except to agree with the statement, hence the answer is no, it is impossible. The whole human development is based on this tenet. Today world totally resulted from the past achievements of the humanity.

There is no doubt that any considerable contribution is made by people, who were influenced achievements of the past. For example, the Internet is one of the greatest inventions of the last time. However, it could be extremely difficult to invent such thing without past experience in the communication field. It is hardly believable that without Bell's invention of the phone, the Internet could be made. The Bell's invention allowed people to think that vast spaces are not obstacles on the way of communication. This idea emerged the great expand of this realm of human knowledge. In this regard, the Internet is like a paragon of this idea that of the total connection regardless long distances. Consequently, this example approves the given statement.

The given issue is reasonable in the medical realm too. The humanity suffered from horrible diseases long time and tried to cope with it. This struggle provided enormous experience in medical sphere.

Using this base of knowledge today medical scientists push forward the development of the medicine. The innovative drugs and methods of therapy are based on previous experience and knowledge. For example, one of the progressive spheres is molecular-machines. It is more like magic, but it is true. It is unbelievable small machines, which may deliver drugs precisely to the aim. These things will seriously help with the oncological diseases. It would be absolutely impossible without the past achievements in these realms.

Probably, there is one realm of human activity where the past achievements may not be so important is the art. In contrast, in order to be successful artist one often neglects the past achievements of previous epochs, for example, the impressionists. This group of artists neglected the previous methods and techniques, and finally they contributed a lot in the fine arts.

To sum up, the given statement is reasonable and true, because it approves the logic of the common sense, however, fine arts is the such realm there this rule may not work at all.