In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement

The statement presented in the question gives a fair amount of opportunity to present both the sides context to judge which path leads to better track record for an individual and field. People choose a field based on lots of factors that help to create better facilities and life on the planet. The bigger goal of any field is contribute to the growth of the individual and planet as a whole. To achieve such holistic goals we have to develop individuals passionate enough to contribute to different existing fields. Such dedicated contribution has made better opportunities in many aspect of life.

When an individual selects a field they are mostly motivated by the growth of the field achieved by past tremendous work. These high achievers motivates them to peruse a field. The story starts from the point where motivated individuals start their journey by sheer presence of historical excellence. India is now considered as technical hub where people from diverse background has made significant contribution to tremendous growth of technology in the country. Examples of such sheer hard work has build India's image as technical battle ground of future. Following such trends many got motivated with the opportunities the field has to offer. Such development clearly contributes in the economic growth of the country. To develop talent such tremendous growth stories bolster people to evaluate the potential of a field.

But the other side of the story looks equally interesting. Every legendary story start with zeal and passion to make something great. Such a product will bring leap in technology generation. Such great stories not necessarily need tremendous past contribution to take off. There are lots of examples that evince in my mind right now. For instance Elon musk spaceX and Tesla motors. These companies are engineering marvels. Ford motors tried to make electric cars ways before but failed badly. There were many issues related to those cars like bad design, frequent charging etc. Even though nothing much was achieved in the field Elon gave a engineering marvel to the people in form of Tesla cars. The cars not only have destroyed all the stereotypical thoughts but presented a car that is better than many available combustion motor vehicle. On the other side Amazon was the first company in the world to open e-commerce company that will deliver books to your door step. They eventually entered in all consumer goods market and acquire larger market share all around the world.

Eventually there are lot of factors that persuades people to take up a challenging task and contribute to the growth of the society. Some start a journey following someone's dream while other have their own dreams.