In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Knowledge is power, and the more you know the better. Our modern day knowledge of the sciences and the arts is an accumulation of centuries worth of information. However, prior knowledge is not necessary for human curiosity and innovation. While most of human’s discoveries and innovations have been based off prior human creations and ideas, it is not always the case. Creative constraints, such as innacesibility to knowledge, can, in some cases, produce equally magnificent results as well. However, as our technology and understanding of science becomes more and more advanced, it becomes harder and harder to make new significant contributions in a field without prior knowledge.

Intellectual curisoity is a powerful driving factor. It was what drove Ramunjan, a famous mathematician from India, to make significant contributions to his field. As an uneducated boy from a rural town in India, he had little to no access to books and education. However, he began experimenting with numbers and counting and reinvented many established mathematical formulas that, unbeknowest to him, had already been invented. Beyond that, Ramunjan came up with many new theories and postulates in mathematics regarding integers and counting. His work was so pivotal to the field that Oxford welcomed him into their institution with a fullride scholarship. Unskilled and untrained artists all around the world have been able to make beautiful creations without any prior knowledge of their craft. A self composed piece played by a street violinist in no less magnificent that a student out of Juliard playing Bach or Mozart. Sometimes passion alone can drive humans to success, prior knowlede is not always a necessary prerequistite.

However, after centuries of human existance, most of the simple or easy things have already been invented or thought of—especially in scientific fields. Bohr’s model of an atom was revolutionary, it was one of the first glimpes into what a structure of an atom could look like. It posited that atoms were made up of both positive and negative charges. This informationw as vital to rutherfords experimentation and understanding of physics that allowed him to implement his gold foil experiement—one that ultimatley led to an even more accurate representation of an atomic structure. Physicists have been building off their predeccors works for decades. Martin Luther King Jr., a monumental civil rights activist, modeled many of his tactics and strategies off Mahatma Gandhi, another civil rights activist. Using Gandhi’s methods of peaceful protest and civil disobediance, proven to have worked, MLK was able to achieve his goal of racial equality in the United States. Prior knowledge has become vital to success in modern days fields such as science and history. The more you know, the better your chances of contributing significantly to your field.

While knowledge’s relationship with humans has been complex, it is becoming clear that it is necessary for human success. While there have been cases of true ingenuity without the help of textbook knowledge, the cases have been far and few. More often than not, significant discoveries and innovation have been derivates of prior predescessors work. It is to be seen what will happen when the all the knowledge accumulated over human existance becomes too large for even the smartest human to comprehend. Who will be able to innovate or create beyond that?