We learn our most valuable lessons in life from struggling with our limitations rather than from enjoying our successes.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The statement above claims that the most valuable lessons in life are attained from struggling with our limitations rather than from enjoying our successes. Restrictions such as personal, social, and monetary limitations force us to become creative and think outside of the box. These kinds of limitations can also be the push that people need to succeed--to show that even in the face of adversity, an uphill battle can still be won. However, success, with all of its consequential complications, can also bring with it, a whole host of valuable life lessons.

Limitations force humans to think outside of the box. Take for example, Kelvin Doe, a West African teenager from Sierra Leone. Born into a poor family in a poor area, this town's educational resources and infrastructure were severely lacking. This forced Kelvin Doe to get creative. He collected scrap metals and discarded tech from local junkyards and deconstructed them to flesh out useful parts. He used all the recycled parts to build useful, nifty gadgets such as homemade batteries, generators, and even a transistor radio. His innovative skills were so impressive that they caught the attention of world-renowned academic institutions such as Harvard and MIT. Even though Kelvin Doe had limited resources, he was able to maximize their potential by thinking outside the box. This is a stunning contrast to the engineers of big engineering companies such as IBM and Apple who have all the resources in the world and still struggle to push out innovative products every year.

Furthermore, limitations test the will and determination of our character. Stephen Hawking was a brilliant young physicist who was diagnosed with ALS during his time in college. ALS immediately began affecting his day to day life, and he soon found himself in a wheelchair. As the disease progressed, he would slowly lose most of his motor function. Rather than give up, however, these hardships forced Hawking to try even harder. He continued his research in theoretical physics despite all odds and made revolutionary contributions to the field such as insight into blackhole radiation and his works on the grad unification theory. Struggling with limitations tests human beings, either pushing them to the breaking point or, in the case of Hawking, pushing them to success despite all odds.

However, it is sometimes unadulterated success that comes concomitant with the most valuable lessons in life. Mark Zuckerberg was a bright young Harvard student who is now infamous for his most prized creation--Facebook. Facebook’s early years--where its product's reachability was limited, as was its funding—were the easiest years of its lifespan hitherto. As Facebook and Zuckerberg gained notoriety and, consequently, success, was when they truly began to face real problems. Massive scandals such as privacy breaches, board member revolts, fake news, and political cyber warfare being waged on their platforms were just a few of numerous issues they faced. Only while enjoying the successes of his brainchild, Facebook, did Mark Zuckerberg arguably learn some of his most valuable life lessons. Lessons such as the importance of ethics in technology and loyalty; lessons more valuable than those attained during Facebook's primitive days.

Life lessons are not discrete: learning them through struggling with limitations is not mutually exclusive from learning them through enjoying the fruits of success. Humans learn life lessons every day, in all types of situations. Sometimes struggles such as poverty or physical disabilities carry the most important life lessons, whereas other times it is from enjoying success itself that we stumble upon our most valuable life lessons. Either way, one thing is certain, despite the adversities one may face in life, humans are known for their perseverance and will for progression, despite all odds.