Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Government intervention in areas such as women’s healthcare and corporate law have, rightfully so, made the average citizen vary of their meddling. However, many sectors such as education and public infrastructure have greatly benefited from synergy with the government. The arts, which are often overlooked as superfluous and unnecessary, are at constant risk of extinction. Empirical evidence has proven that the arts are essential to the functioning of a healthy society, and governments who have a vested interest in the wellbeing of their people should be obligated to ensure its survival.

Famous actors such as Leonardo Decaprio and Matt Damon are revered; yet, pursuing an acting career is seen as foolish and impractical. Art is the binding glue that holds our society together. Bob, a nine to five construction worker, comes home after a long day’s work to unwind in front of his tv; his favorite season of “Game of Thrones” is on air. Art adds joy and hope to the otherwise monotonous lives of many, and, hence, to see it so easily taken for granted is troubling. The people who grow up to one day be the famous actors and actresses we see on tv, the costume makers, the directors, cultivated their love for their art from a young age. Perhaps a school play they partook in, or even a free art class at their local community center. In an era where the middle class is contantly shrinking, everyday parents began to undermine the importance of paying for their child’s extracurricular activities in lue of putting food on the table. Goverments who invest in the arts, are goverments who invest in their people and the future of their society.

Free education uptil college, something Americans now take for granted, revolutionized the lives of everyday people. In countries like India, where education is not a guaranteed right and only affordable by some, poverty rates remains high and their economic development remains low. Americans invested in their young ones, and it was an investment well spent. The New York art scene offers marvelous creations such as their broadway and beautiful ballet shows. Yet, these masterpieces are only attainable to the few, the wealthy, that can afford to enjoy them. Private dance classes, singing and acting coaches, art tutors: these are all things that the wealthy can use to set themselves ahead of the curve. The American government stepped in to make education a level playing field, it set up institutions such as libraries to make educational texts available to everybody, not just the rich. Goverment funding for art programs in schools and art museums can open up art to a whole new set of people, despite their socioeconomic status.

The government has had its fair share of meddling disasters. When the American government decided to step in and declare that all schools needed standardized testing to ensure educational quality, it didn’t work out so well. Schools setting aside inspiration and intellectual curiosity in place of extreme test taking skills was the intended result, no doubt. While government intervention can bring along with it a whole host of bureaucracy issues and misplaced intentions, that does not mean it should be shunned all together. Government funding should allow those at a more personal level such as teachers and community leaders some regulated autonomy to make decisions on how best to spend the money.

The arts are vital to a healthy community, and it is the governments duty to ensure that it is accessible to the masses. Government funding that allows a degree of autonomy to locals would ensure that the funding was best spent, and prevent the government from denigrating the integrity of the arts. The arts provide a sense of community and joy in the otherwise drab lives of many. What kind of future would it be where none of them were left?